Roger Davis      

Full name Roger Clive Davis

Born January 15, 1946, Whitchurch, Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales

Current age 70 years 106 days

Major teams Glamorgan

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm offbreak

Education Blundells

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 214 371 30 7367 134 21.60 5 208 0
List A 122 108 8 1730 101 17.30 1 6 44 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 214 7793 241 6/82 32.33 6 0
List A 122 2869 1952 71 4/48 4/48 27.49 4.08 40.4 1 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1964 - 1976
List A span 1967 - 1976
Profile

Roger Davis was the fielder who nearly caught Garry Sobers during Glamorgan`s Championship match with Nottinghmashire at Swansea in 1968 when the great West Indian all-rounder became the first man in cricket history to hit six sixes in an over in first-class cricket. Davis was fielding on the long-off boundary and off the fifth ball of Malcolm Nash`s historic over, Davis caught one of Sobers` mighty blows, but in so doing, he fell over the boundary and the umpires signalled six.

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Latest Photos

Aug 24, 1969

Glamorgan, who won the County Championship in 1969. Back:  H Jeffreys (scorer), Tony Cordle, Brian Lewis, Bryan Davis, Lawrence Williams, Eifion Jones, Roger Davis, Malcolm Nash.  Front: Majid Jahangir Khan, Ossie Wheatley, Peter Walker, David Shepherd, Alan Jones, Lord's, August 24, 1969

© PA Photos

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 19:48 EDT | 18:48 CDT | 16:48 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 19:48 EDT | 18:48 CDT | 16:48 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 19:48 EDT | 18:48 CDT | 16:48 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days