Western Australia Cricket Association Ground
1893
Western Australian Cricket Association, owners of the ground
18,000
149.0m long, 139.0m wide
Yes, since 1986
Members End, Prindiville Stand End
Western Australia, Western Australia Women
Australian Rules Football, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Soccer, Baseball
Matt Page
17:01, Sun Oct 20, 2019 (UTC +0800)
W.A.C.A. Ground
 

Records and statistics

Australia v England - Dec 11-16, 1970 Scorecard
Australia v England - Dec 14-18, 2017 Scorecard
Test records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
India v New Zealand - Dec 9, 1980 Scorecard
Australia v Pakistan - Jan 19, 2017 Scorecard
ODI records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Australia v New Zealand - Dec 11, 2007 Scorecard
Australia v Sri Lanka - Oct 31, 2010 Scorecard
T20I records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Records index

Profile

The WACA (Western Australian Cricket Association Ground), which is built on old swamp land, has been the home to many sports, including AFL, rugby (both codes) and soccer, but its real fame is as a cricket ground. Although it was first used in 1890, transport problems meant it was not part of Australia's main cricket community. The arduous trip from the east was eased a little with the building of a railway, but the journey still took several days. It was only with the introduction of scheduled flights that Perth become truly accessible.

The WACA staged its first Test in 1970-71 and soon established a reputation for being a fast and hard track, and that continued until the last couple of years when the surface flattened out. The often intense Perth heat is famously eased in the afternoon by the Fremantle Doctor, a breeze which sweeps in along the Swan River.

The future of the WACA has been increasingly under the spotlight and despite investment in the spectator accommodation, the switch of AFL to the nearby purpose-built Subiaco Oval [capacity 43,000] has led to serious financial issues and the WACA has struggled to pay its way.

In 2002, the ground was redeveloped and its capacity reduced to make it more economical. Features included building a new small grandstand and players' pavilion, reducing the size of the playing arena, and replacing seats with grass hills on each side and replacing all the seats with new ones. As a result, the permanent capacity of the stadium is 22,000 with the use of temporary stands used for all major events to boost it to 24,500.
Martin Williamson December 2006

Fixtures

2019
Fri Oct 18 - Mon Oct 21
10:30 local | 02:30 GMT
22:30 EDT | 21:30 CDT | 19:30 PDT
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Western Australia v Victoria
Wed Oct 23 (50 ovs)
11:00 local | 03:00 GMT
23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT
The Marsh Cup
Western Australia v Victoria
Fri Nov 1 (20 ovs)          
17:40 local | 09:40 GMT
05:40 EDT | 04:40 CDT | 02:40 PDT
Women's Big Bash League
Perth Scorchers Women v Melbourne Renegades Women
Sat Nov 2 (20 ovs)
12:10 local | 04:10 GMT
00:10 EDT | 23:10 CDT | 21:10 PDT
Women's Big Bash League
Melbourne Renegades Women v Sydney Sixers Women
Sat Nov 2 (20 ovs)          
15:55 local | 07:55 GMT
03:55 EDT | 02:55 CDT | 00:55 PDT
Women's Big Bash League
Perth Scorchers Women v Melbourne Stars Women
Sun Nov 3 (20 ovs)
11:10 local | 03:10 GMT
23:10 EDT | 22:10 CDT | 20:10 PDT
Women's Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars Women v Sydney Sixers Women
Tue Nov 12 (20 ovs)          
17:30 local | 09:30 GMT
04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST
Women's Big Bash League
Perth Scorchers Women v Sydney Thunder Women
Fri Nov 29 - Mon Dec 2
10:30 local | 02:30 GMT
21:30 EST | 20:30 CST | 18:30 PST
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Western Australia v South Australia
2020
Tue Jan 21 (50 ovs)
10:00 local | 02:00 GMT
21:00 EST | 20:00 CST | 18:00 PST
Women's National Cricket League
Western Australia Women v South Australia Women
Thu Jan 23 (50 ovs)
10:00 local | 02:00 GMT
21:00 EST | 20:00 CST | 18:00 PST
Women's National Cricket League
Western Australia Women v South Australia Women
Sat Feb 22
14:00 local | 06:00 GMT
01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
2nd Match, Group B - Thailand Women v West Indies Women (22 February 2020)
Sat Feb 22
19:00 local | 11:00 GMT
06:00 EST | 05:00 CST | 03:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
3rd Match, Group A - New Zealand Women v Sri Lanka Women (22 February 2020)
Sun Feb 23
19:00 local | 11:00 GMT
06:00 EST | 05:00 CST | 03:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
4th Match, Group B - England Women v South Africa Women (23 February 2020)
Mon Feb 24
14:00 local | 06:00 GMT
01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
5th Match, Group A - Australia Women v Sri Lanka Women (24 February 2020)
Mon Feb 24
19:00 local | 11:00 GMT
06:00 EST | 05:00 CST | 03:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
6th Match, Group A - Bangladesh Women v India Women (24 February 2020)
Fri Mar 6 - Mon Mar 9
10:30 local | 02:30 GMT
21:30 EST | 20:30 CST | 18:30 PST
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Western Australia v Queensland
Tue Mar 17 - Fri Mar 20
10:30 local | 02:30 GMT
22:30 EDT | 21:30 CDT | 19:30 PDT
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Western Australia v New South Wales
Day and Night - Day and Night International Matches - International Matches Live - Covered by Cricinfo
No responsibility is taken by Cricinfo for the accuracy of this information.

Latest Photos

A general view of the WACA, Australia v England, 3rd Test, Perth, 2nd day, December 15, 2017
A general view of the WACA
© Getty Images
The WACA is set to host England in a Test for this last time, Western Australia XI v England, tour match, 1st day, Perth, November 4 2017
The WACA is set to host England in a Test for this last time
© Getty Images
A magnificent view of the WACA, Western Australia v New South Wales, Sheffield Shield 2016-17, 3rd day, Perth, March 18, 2017
A magnificent view of the WACA
© Getty Images
Mitchell Marsh and Usman Khawaja ahead of the final day's play, Australia v South Africa, 1st Test, Perth, 5th day, November 7, 2016
Mitchell Marsh and Usman Khawaja ahead of the final day's play
© Cricket Australia/Getty Images
 
View the full index of related photos »