The Greatest Teams

Mitchell Johnson      

Full name Mitchell Guy Johnson

Born November 2, 1981, Townsville, Queensland

Current age 33 years 176 days

Major teams Australia, Australia A, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, Queensland, Western Australia

Nickname Midge, Notch

Playing role Bowler

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Left-arm fast

Height 1.89 m

Mitchell Guy Johnson
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
Tests 64 97 16 1868 123* 23.06 3173 58.87 1 10 223 29 24 0
ODIs 153 91 32 951 73* 16.11 987 96.35 0 2 81 23 35 0
T20Is 30 17 7 109 28* 10.90 95 114.73 0 0 8 3 5 0
First-class 106 155 29 2910 123* 23.09 2 14 34 0
List A 182 106 38 1105 73* 16.25 1207 91.54 0 2 39 0
Twenty20 77 41 19 266 30 12.09 248 107.25 0 0 20 8 17 0
Bowling averages
Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
Tests 64 123 14411 7879 283 8/61 12/127 27.84 3.28 50.9 16 12 3
ODIs 153 150 7489 6038 239 6/31 6/31 25.26 4.83 31.3 9 3 0
T20Is 30 30 656 797 38 3/15 3/15 20.97 7.28 17.2 0 0 0
First-class 106 21755 12155 425 8/61 28.60 3.35 51.1 23 17 4
List A 182 9119 7315 277 6/31 6/31 26.40 4.81 32.9 11 3 0
Twenty20 77 76 1690 2170 91 3/15 3/15 23.84 7.70 18.5 0 0 0
Career statistics
Test debut Australia v Sri Lanka at Brisbane, Nov 8-12, 2007 scorecard
Last Test Australia v India at Melbourne, Dec 26-30, 2014 scorecard
Test statistics
ODI debut New Zealand v Australia at Christchurch, Dec 10, 2005 scorecard
Last ODI Australia v New Zealand at Melbourne, Mar 29, 2015 scorecard
ODI statistics
T20I debut Australia v Zimbabwe at Cape Town, Sep 12, 2007 scorecard
Last T20I England v Australia at Chester-le-Street, Aug 31, 2013 scorecard
T20I statistics
First-class debut 2001/02
Last First-class Australia v India at Melbourne, Dec 26-30, 2014 scorecard
List A debut Queensland v Tasmania at Brisbane, Oct 25, 2003 scorecard
Last List A Australia v New Zealand at Melbourne, Mar 29, 2015 scorecard
Twenty20 debut Queensland v Tasmania at Brisbane, Jan 6, 2006 scorecard
Last Twenty20 Kings XI Punjab v Sunrisers Hyderabad at Mohali, Apr 27, 2015 scorecard
Recent matches
Bat & Bowl Team Opposition Ground Match Date Scorecard
2/39, 4* Kings XI v Sunrisers Mohali 27 Apr 2015 T20
0/40, 1 Kings XI v Super Kings Chennai 25 Apr 2015 T20
1/33, 13* Kings XI v Royals Ahmedabad 21 Apr 2015 T20
1, 1/41 Kings XI v KKR Pune 18 Apr 2015 T20
0/42 Kings XI v Daredevils Pune 15 Apr 2015 T20
3*, 2/23 Kings XI v Mum Indians Mumbai 12 Apr 2015 T20
2/34, 0 Kings XI v Royals Pune 10 Apr 2015 T20
3/30 Australia v New Zealand Melbourne 29 Mar 2015 ODI # 3646
27*, 2/50 Australia v India Sydney 26 Mar 2015 ODI # 3645
1/42 Australia v Pakistan Adelaide 20 Mar 2015 ODI # 3642
Profile

Mitchell Johnson remains a once in a generation bowler more than a decade after he was first spotted by Dennis Lillee as a 17-year-old. No other fast man has been able to copy his successful left-arm method that mixes bouts of waywardness with spot-on strike-power. Off the field he is so shy that it is hard to believe he has taken on the role as Australia's chief marksman, a weapon capable of hitting batsmen and 155kph.

  • Read More
Timeline
    • 1998-99
      Talent spotted
      • While bowling at a Pace Australia camp Johnson, who likes tennis more, is watched by an excited Dennis Lillee. Lillee immediately phoned Rod Marsh, who was then the Australian Academy head coach, and Johnson was quickly headed to Adelaide and the national under-19 team.
    • November 1-4, 2001
      Brave entry
      • In his first-class debut for Queensland at the Gabba, Johnson takes three wickets against New Zealand. However, the lasting mark is of him entering at No. 11 and hitting his fifth ball for six.
    • 2003-04
      Downs and ups
      • Plays his maiden one-day and Shield matches for Queensland but his back is a problem again and he succumbs to a fourth stress fracture. He loses his state contract, drives a plumbing van, and briefly considers giving up the game. The recovery begins when he gets through the 2004-05 season with the Bulls and is called up for Australia A's tour of Pakistan.
    « Prev Showing 1 of 4 Next »
Latest Articles
Latest Photos

Apr 27, 2015

Mitchell Johnson celebrates the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan, Kings XI Punjab v Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2015, Mohali, April 27, 2015

Mitchell Johnson celebrates the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan

© BCCI

Apr 25, 2015

Mitchell Johnson fails to hold on to a catch, Chennai Super Kings v Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2015, Chennai, April 25, 2015

Mitchell Johnson fails to hold on to a catch

© PTI

Apr 21, 2015

Mitchell Johnson celebrates the wicket of Shane Watson in the Super Over, Rajasthan Royals v Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2015, Ahmedabad, April 21, 2015

Mitchell Johnson celebrates the wicket of Shane Watson in the Super Over

© BCCI

Notes

ICC Cricketer of the Year 2009

Allan Border Medal - 2014

ICC Cricketer of the Year 2014

ICC Test Player of the Year 2014

Country Fixtures Country Results
TBA v Australians at North Sound
May 27-29, 2015 (22:32 EDT | 21:32 CDT | 19:32 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Australia at Roseau
Jun 3-7, 2015 (22:32 EDT | 21:32 CDT | 19:32 PDT)
2nd Test: West Indies v Australia at Kingston
Jun 11-15, 2015 (23:32 EDT | 22:32 CDT | 20:32 PDT)
Kent v Australians at Canterbury
Jun 25-28, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Essex v Australians at Chelmsford
Jul 1-4, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
loading