International Cricket April 3, 2007

Hong Kong squad named for WCL Division 3 tournament

The ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 3 tournament will be held in Darwin, Australia from 27th May to 2nd June 2007. The following squad of 18 players has been selected to represent Hong Kong at this tournament:

  • Tim Smart (Captain)
  • Afzaal Haider
  • Butt Hussain
  • Courtney Kruger
  • Ilyas Gul
  • Imran Idrees
  • Irfan Ahmed
  • Khalid Khan
  • Mark Eames
  • Mark Kratzmann
  • Nadeem Ahmed
  • Najeeb Amar
  • Nasir Hameed
  • Rahul Sharma
  • Ravi Sujanani
  • Skhawat Ali
  • Tabarak Dar
  • Zain Abbas

The final 14+4 team to travel to Darwin will be announced around the 20th April 2007.

The top 2 teams in the tournament will progress to the WCL Division 2, a 6-team (round-robin) event to be staged in Namibia from 23 November to 1 December 2007 (the top 2 non-Asian teams will also become part of the ICC High Performance Programme from 2007/08). The top 4 teams from Division 2 will progress to the 12-team ICC World Cup Qualifier 2009.

Related Links: