International Cricket April 16, 2007

Final squad named for WCL Division 3 tournament; Ilyas Gul takes over captaincy

Ilyas Gull will lead the Hong Kong team in Darwin © HKCA
The final squad of 14 players has been named to represent Hong Kong at the WCL Division 3 tournament, to be played in Darwin, Australia, from 27th May to 2nd June 2007. The team will be led in Darwin by Ilyas Gull who takes over the reigns from Tim Smart, who was unable to join the tour after accepting a new job opportunity.

The Hong Kong team is:

  • Ilyas Gull (Captain)
  • Najeeb Aamer (Vice-captain)
  • Afzaal Haider
  • Butt Hussain
  • Courtney Kruger
  • Irfan Ahmed
  • Khalid Khan
  • Mark Eames
  • Mark Kratzmann
  • Nadeem Ahmed
  • Nasir Hameed
  • Rahul Sharma
  • Ravi Sujanani
  • Zain Abbas

The 4 reserves are 1) Ghulam Mustafa; 2) Imran Idrees; 3) Skhawat Ali; and 4) Tabarak Dar.

There will be plenty of incentive for the team to do well in the tournament. The top 2 teams in the tournament will be promoted to the WCL Division 2 and will play in a 6-team (round-robin) event to be staged in Namibia from 23 November to 1 December 2007. The top 2 non-Asian teams will also become part of the ICC High Performance Programme for 2007/08. The top 4 teams from Division 2 will progress to the 12-team ICC World Cup Qualifier 2009.

[UPDATE 23.04.2007] Ravi Sujanani has been dropped from the squad and his place will be taken by Tabarak Dar.

Related Links: