England news June 1, 2012

Edgbaston to host Champions Trophy final

ESPNcricinfo staff

England will host the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy in Cardiff, at Edgbaston and at The Oval from June 6 to 23, the ECB has confirmed. Edgbaston will host the final of the tournament, which will be the last time it is played as the ICC moves towards having one championship for each of the game's three formats from 2015.

"Wales has earned an outstanding reputation for its ability to deliver world-class sporting events and we are delighted that Cardiff will be used as a host venue for the ICC Champions Trophy and stage a semi-final," David Collier, the chief executive of the ECB, said.

England last hosted the Champions Trophy in 2004, with West Indies emerging victorious. The ten Test-playing nations joined USA and Kenya to compete in fifteen matches during that series.

Champions Trophy schedule

Group stage: June 6-17 (Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval)
Semi-finals: June 19 (The Oval), June 20 (Cardiff)
Final: June 23 (Edgbaston)