Pakistan v West Indies, Champions Trophy, Group B, The Oval

Misbah questions Ramdin spirit

Andrew Fidel Fernando at The Oval

June 7, 2013

Comments: 60 | Text size: A | A

Denesh Ramdin was happy to let Misbah-ul-Haq walk off, West Indies v Pakistan, Champions Trophy, Group B, The Oval, June 7, 2013
Denesh Ramdin was happy to let Misbah-ul-Haq walk off after claiming a caught behind chance © Getty Images
Enlarge

Pakistan captain Misbah-Ul-Haq took a harsh view of Denesh Ramdin's actions during the last ball of the ninth over at The Oval, labelling the wicketkeeper's ruse "not in the spirit of the game".

Misbah bottom-edged a Kemar Roach delivery to Ramdin, who initially seemed to have snaffled the chance, but lost control of the ball falling forward, and it slipped out of his gloves onto the turf. But instead of making his mistake obvious to the umpire or his team-mates, Ramdin simply picked up the ball and threw it in the direction of the square leg umpire, before joining his team-mates in the celebratory huddle.

Misbah turned to the dressing room, but square leg umpire Nigel Llong alerted the third umpire, and the replay revealed the chance had been dropped. The batsman, who had not scored at the time, went on to make 96 not out.

"What can I say about that?" Misbah said when asked about the catch after the match. "I think he should have told them what happened, but I don't know what he was thinking at that time. I would not be very happy if my wicketkeeper did that.

"If we don't know anything, then it's fine, but if you know clearly that it's not a catch, you should not claim that because it's not in the spirit of the game."

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo vouched for and defended his wicketkeeper, whom he says, does not feel he acted dishonestly. According to MCC's Law 32, a batsman can only be caught if the fielder obtains complete control over the ball and his movement.

"Denesh honestly thought he had control of the ball," Bravo said. "By rights the umpire had another look and the replay showed he did not. So we don't play the game like that. History shows we've never had anything negative against us unlike other teams.

"Unfortunately, he did not catch it. He's a very honest player, and as I said, history shows if you check the records that we don't have any stigma or negatives around us as a team. We have been true in our cricket careers and history has shown that we play the game in true spirit of the way it should be played. I don't think we did something like this deliberately."

Roach said he had also thought it was a clean catch, but was philosophical about the lost chance, which would have given him his fourth wicket of the morning, and left the opposition 17 for 4.

"I thought he caught it. I really thought he caught it," Roach said. "But the square umpire thought differently. That's an issue for them to deal with, and we'll see what plays out from here. You make mistakes. No one goes to drop a catch, but it happens, so you just have to accept it and move on and be professional about it."

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. He tweets here

RSS Feeds: Andrew Fidel Fernando

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (June 11, 2013, 13:47 GMT)

This is an embrassing to the WI team and Caribbean people.Unacceptable!However,in the sprit of the game,the batsman should have walked given out by the umpire.Then what?The hasrsh punishment given.What constitute the sprit of the game and to what extent the code of ethics determine the sprit of the game.Michael Holding interpretation should be noted and especially "where this is heading"

Posted by   on (June 9, 2013, 21:48 GMT)

Ramdin did the wrong thing and is against the spirit of the cricket. Shameful. Don't know how bravo is defending him. I Thank Nigel Long for checking it otherwise Misbah would of been out for a duck rather than 96*

Posted by   on (June 9, 2013, 9:14 GMT)

I dont know many guys are supporting Ramdin. Don't just look at the dropped catch just go back to youtube watch the video and look only face of ramdin. He clearly know he has dropped it. His face was changed and his body movement became so weird. Trust me without seeing 2nd camera view I shouted he dropped it just look at his face.

Posted by   on (June 9, 2013, 9:09 GMT)

Well to be fair Bravo's statement itself is against the spirit of Cricket .... To present an excuse that an international Wicket keeper representing west indies for a no. of years had no knowledge of the rules and law is a lam e excuse itself .. Mr. Bravo you have belittled your self by presenting this excuse and recalling past history is not a evidence .. Ramdin has committed the act mischiefly and you should accept it and say sorry for it ....

Posted by delboy on (June 8, 2013, 23:12 GMT)

@Ghulam Jaffer Bhutto batsmen, bowled caught etc, are entitled to stand their ground and await the umpires decision. If you know the rules the umpire must also adjudge the delivery is not a no ball before giving the batsman out.

Posted by   on (June 8, 2013, 22:23 GMT)

Pakistan wicket keeper Rashid Latif was suspended for five matches in 2004 for taking a false catch. I was expecting a similar penalty for Ramdin.

Posted by Harmony111 on (June 8, 2013, 22:22 GMT)

I haven't seen the actual video but it seems that Ramdin did take the ball in his gloves (for a very short time) and then it popped out. The law is not clear about the duration of holding the ball for the catch to be deemed to be complete. Therefore, as per the law Ramdin was perfectly within his right to claim the catch. Whether the catch was complete or not is for the umpire to decide and no one should have a problem if they decided that Ramdin did not have full control over it. However, to say that Ramdin did not even have a right to claim it and was going against the spirit is ridiculous.

In the CB Series, David Hussey was involved in a Obstructing The Field incident where HIS OWN PERCEPTION of Self-Preservation was given more weightage than the actual obstruction. In that Sydney 08 Test, Clarke's OWN PERCEPTION of having taken a catch got priority.

Against this convention, Ramdin doesn't even have the right to claim a catch? What about Ponting's grassed catch appeal in Syd 08?

Posted by Harmony111 on (June 8, 2013, 20:18 GMT)

I haven't seen the actual video but it seems that Ramdin did take the ball in his gloves (for a very short time) and then it popped out. The law is not clear about the duration of holding the ball for the catch to be deemed to be complete. Therefore, as per the law Ramdin was perfectly within his right to claim the catch. Whether the catch was complete or not is for the umpire to decide and no one should have a problem if they decided that Ramdin did not have full control over it. However, to say that Ramdin did not even have a right to claim it and was going against the spirit is ridiculous.

In the CB Series, David Hussey was involved in a Obstructing The Field incident where HIS OWN PERCEPTION of Self-Preservation was given more weightage than the actual obstruction. In that Sydney 08 Test, Clarke's OWN PERCEPTION of having taken a catch got priority.

Against this convention, Ramdin doesn't even have the right to claim a catch? What about Ponting's grassed catch appeal in Syd 08?

Posted by   on (June 8, 2013, 20:07 GMT)

I dont know if this is going to be published. But pakistan themselves had appealed so many times and have got controversial decisions in their favor. The spirit of game thing is so BS. Sometimes the keeper might not be sure whether he had taken a catch or if there was an edge. He wouldnt risk not appealing and costing his team an opportunity to take a wicket. An umpire can always refer to the third umpire if he has a doubt about the appeal.These kind of controversial appeals happened even in the late 90's. So move on with it... Also dont think it was sane on the part of bravo to be pointing other teams. Focus on the game.

Posted by   on (June 8, 2013, 17:54 GMT)

The truth is always offensive to some BUT IS NEVER A SIN. I support Bravo's comments 100%, and the fact is West Indies' record for fairness stands heads and shoulders above all other teams. The great Brian Lara has been wronged many times by umpires, perhaps more than any other player, and on each occasion he walked, even though he knew that the decision by the umpire was wrong. Because there is the perception that the Windies is no longer sitting at the top of world cricket, it is open season to take shots at the team.

Comments have now been closed for this article

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
Andrew Fidel FernandoClose
Tournament Results
England v India at Birmingham - Jun 23, 2013
India won by 5 runs
India v Sri Lanka at Cardiff - Jun 20, 2013
India won by 8 wickets (with 90 balls remaining)
England v South Africa at The Oval - Jun 19, 2013
England won by 7 wickets (with 75 balls remaining)
Australia v Sri Lanka at The Oval - Jun 17, 2013
Sri Lanka won by 20 runs
England v New Zealand at Cardiff - Jun 16, 2013
England won by 10 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days