Afg v Ban, Group A, Canberra February 18, 2015

Umpiring confusion reigns again

ESPNcricinfo staff

It took only seven balls for Samiullah Shenwari's delight at Afghanistan's first appearance in a World Cup to descend into personal disaster as the focus turned once again onto the umpiring confusion that has scarred the first week of cricket's biggest tournament.

Seven balls for Afghanistan's designs on a victory against Bangladesh to adorn the greatest day in their cricketing history to run into difficulties as Shenwari was barred from the attack for running on the pitch amid unclear umpiring signals that had countless millions of viewers mired in confusion.

The ICC insisted that Steve Davis, the Australian umpire, had twice warned Shenwari for running on the pitch and that correct protocol under Law 42.12 had been followed.

Andy Moles, Afghanistan's coach, made no protests, merely indicating that Shenwari had never before fallen foul of umpires for running on the pitch.

But that did not disguise the fact that Shenwari's punishment caught commentators and many millions of viewers by surprise - and that for the second time in a matter of days umpiring standards were under scrutiny.

Three officials - Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena and Billy Bowden - were involved in another controversial decision during the World Cup opener between Australia and England in Melbourne, where James Anderson was adjudged run out on the same delivery after James Taylor had reviewed a leg-before decision against him, which was overturned by the DRS. The ICC later admitted that the ball should have been deemed dead.

Even the ICC's assurances could not hide the fact that the visible protocol employed by umpire Ian Gould when Mohammad Irfan ventured on to the danger area in Pakistan's opening match against India was markedly different to that displayed by Davis, who was less clear.

Against India, Irfan was obviously warned twice after which he switched his line of attack to round the wicket for both right- and left-hand batsmen and finished his quota of 10 overs. Gould signalled a first warning and second warning for everyone to see. By contrast, Shenwari's fate took onlookers by surprise. Umpire Davis issued what was assumed to be the first warning from the last ball of Shenwari's first over then banned him after the first ball of his next. Presumably, an earlier caution had been missed.

What occurred therefore was inconsistency in protocols at best; ordinary umpiring at worst.

Law 42.12 requires an umpire to "caution the bowler and inform the other umpire of what has occurred" in the first instance, and also "inform the captain of the fielding side and the batsmen". If in the same innings the bowler runs on to the danger area again, the umpire has to repeat the procedure indicating that it is a final warning.

In Irfan's case, during the 26th over of India's innings, Gould was clearly seen to warn Irfan and his captain on two occasions. At the first warning, after the first ball, he was seen raising one finger. After the fourth delivery of the same over he was seen raising two fingers to suggest it was the second warning. Nobody could be in any doubt.

The commentator, and ESPNcricinfo contributor, Mark Nicholas remarked that Irfan had also been unofficially warned when bowling from the other end by umpire Richard Kettleborough - a friendly piece of advice prevalent in the game.

Davis' gestures - hardly designed for the masses - were so understated that the ICC felt compelled to state that correct procedure had been followed. According to the ICC, the match officials stated that Shenwari, the bowler, and his captain were nevertheless warned twice in the first over and that after bowling the first ball of the second over, Shenwari was therefore quite correctly removed in accordance with Law 42.12.

But in Shenwari's case, only at the end of Shenwari's first over, does the video show Davis issuing a clear warning, with the raising of one finger. When Shenwari came back to bowl the first ball of his second over, he contravened the law again, and was taken off immediately.

Even allowing for the official explanation that Davis did issue a first caution earlier in Shenwari's opening over - and there is no visual evidence to support that - then the signals and gestures made by the two umpires were inconsistent and were designed only to create confusion.

Umpires have their own variations of signals and gestures for various decisions, but they rarely differ as wildly as Gould and Davis have in this scenario: a fact the ICC might now have to consider tightening up to be more accessible in an age of mass TV.

And, if Nicholas was correct that Irfan also received an unofficial, friendly warning from Kettleborough that he was in danger of punishment before Gould then twice issued official warnings then, by comparison, Shenwari, on the greatest day in Afghanistan's history, seemed to have fallen foul of umpiring at its most authoritarian.

Moles, typically for all those who knew him in his county days at Warwickshire, took a lugubrious view. Afghanistan have had tougher challenges than authoritarian umpires with dodgy hand signals.

"It's disappointing for him, but I don't think it had an effect on the outcome of the game," he said. "It's something we'll have to go and work on. In the seven months I've been in the job I've never known him to be called for it before but looking at the TV evidence he certainly was in the infringing area."

If Afghanistan did not know that it is tough playing cricket with the big boys in a World Cup, they certainly know that now.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Matthew on February 21, 2015, 18:38 GMT

    If only Steve Davis could be removed so easily from umpiring. There are some terrible umpires in international cricket at the moment but he is by some considerable distance the worst.

  • Dummy4 on February 21, 2015, 17:35 GMT

    It is strange to see people think the event is non-significant to the outcome of the result. Imagine in football a team having it's main striker sent off in the opening minutes. This is what happened to Afghanistan losing their strike bowler after bowling just 1 over which forced them to get an additional 9 overs bowled from part timers. It had a huge impact on the game.

    Irfan was given 2 clear official warnings by Ian Gould and one unofficial warning by Kettleborough, that's why he was allowed to bowl, With a 3rd official warning he would have been off.

    When an umpire gives an official warning he has to point to the bowler, the fielding captain and point to the scorer as well clearly signalling it as an official warning. I did not see Steve Davis signalling 3 official warnings to Shinwari.

  • varadarajan on February 21, 2015, 16:17 GMT

    I fail to understand how such things can happen. When for so many things technology is used to decide why not umpiring bloops. Why is there a third umpire,fourth umpire,a match referee all sitting in air conditioned enclosure. Such bloopers they should intervene and correct if they want cricket to be impartial. And one referral per team in a match is silly. Mistakes do happen and we saw some teams inability too appeal as they used up their one referral. It used to be two. RESTORE IT BACK. so Many officials just enjoying life drawing good pay check without any significant contribution.. ICC should take bold revisions in law for the referee to intervene when glaring mistakes happen. Otherwise it is not CRICKET as the Britishers say.

  • Dummy4 on February 21, 2015, 10:04 GMT

    Umpires are human beings. It will go down as another umpiring mistake and will be recoded in history books and will be forgotton fast,

  • Dummy4 on February 20, 2015, 12:50 GMT

    If media coverage from so many angles and the vigilant eye of present-day technology as well as that of commentators did not notice the so-called second, or was it the first, visible "caution" then one seriously doubts if it was ever given. Maybe it was actually the only one "officially" given by Steve Davis and he OVERLOOKED that a second caution was necessary before an offending bowler could be suspended only after he repeats it for the third time. In which case it's shameless on the part of the ICC to cover Mr Davis whose mistake as the 3rd/TV Umpire in an earlier match they have already acknowledged.

  • armando on February 20, 2015, 12:06 GMT

    Never new there was an Umpire called Ion Cloud (that would make a great Superhero name though). Lets just say that its not just the players who are under pressure, the occasion of a World event is getting the worst out of few umpires. I do think the Snicko is just not working properly and am not sure if umpires can depend on it to make the right decision. I feel the on-field umpires are in the best position to make decisions, only thing I would demand is consistency both from Umpires and ICC.

  • Dummy4 on February 19, 2015, 18:10 GMT

    Steve Davis, the Australian umpire is not up to standard and has become really controversial. ICC should remove him the earliest and surely Dhermasena made a mess on the other day even though Aleem Dar was confused and wanted to call it a dead ball.

  • Aubline on February 19, 2015, 14:15 GMT

    The player and coach don't seem to be in any doubt that the umpire gave the requisite number of official warnings. Mountains and molehills spring to mind.

  • Dummy4 on February 19, 2015, 14:07 GMT

    Please note that while Aleem Dar and Billy Bowden were also there, it was the mistake of Dharmasena. Aleem Dar and Billy Bowden are best among and the best, and can't be expected to make such grave errors. Dharmasena, on the other hand was quite expected.

  • Ashahi on February 19, 2015, 13:38 GMT

    @ ARMANI777, umpires make mistakes because of human nature. If Afg was so sure about Tamim decision why they didn't review immediately. The keeper should and bowler should be aware of the sound and why they need to discuss that much after that sound. If the sound was not clear enough for the bowler and then it can also happen to the umpire. Afg lost just because of inexperience like UAE to Zim, Zim to SA.

  • No featured comments at the moment.