World Cup Qualifiers December 4, 2013

Christchurch to host WC 2015 Qualifier games

ESPNcricinfo staff

The ICC World Cup Qualifiers will be played across six venues on New Zealand's north and south islands, including Christchurch. The city's journey to host top-level cricket will take another significant step early next year when the Hagley Oval will host its first international match during the Qualifiers, which will be held between January 13 and February 1. The Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln, just outside Christchurch, will also host the final.

Christchurch has not hosted a major event since the devastating earthquake in February 2011. Severe damage was caused to the AMI Stadium and planning permission has now been granted for a new international cricket venue at Hagley Oval. It is due to host the opening game of the World Cup when New Zealand play Sri Lanka on February 14, 2015.

The ICC also announced the groups for the tournament. Group A consists of United Arab Emirates, Scotland, Canada, Hong Kong and Nepal, while group B includes Netherlands, Kenya, Namibia, Papua New Guinea and Uganda. The two finalists will take the last remaining spots in the World Cup draw. Ireland and Afghanistan have already qualified.

The group stage of the tournament will be held between January 13 and 23, followed by the Super Six stage between January 26 to February 1.

The schedule for the Super Six stage is based on rankings given to teams in the group stages (see sidebar). If the top three teams qualify for the Super Six stage, they retain their group-stage ranking irrespective of their position in the points table. However, if a team that is ranked fourth or fifth in the group stage qualifies for the Super Six, they will assume the ranking of the team they have displaced.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Hussein on December 11, 2013, 6:05 GMT

    I think it is very important that the two teams which will qualify together with Afghanistan and Ireland aim at least a quater final place in the world cup and arrange fixtures against each other leading to the world cup and with help of their respective Ministry,National body and ICC get high level coaching and training in some test nations so that come the world cup these four teams give some stiff challenge to the test nations and make more demand for associate teams to be included.Also we now have sixteen teams in the associates category (Teams in T20 Qualifiers in UAE) these teams should have tours with each other at least once every two years like two test matches five days three one day matches and two t20 matches and icc should give these matches full status.Otherwise best of luck and may the best two teams qualify

  • Dummy4 on December 10, 2013, 20:13 GMT

    Scotland and Holland will qualify

  • Dummy4 on December 7, 2013, 17:14 GMT

    Nepal and UAE will qualified

  • Dummy4 on December 5, 2013, 2:55 GMT

    chance to play world cup 2015 as well. come on paras and your company to rule the world. show our potential to high rank nation

  • Shariful on December 4, 2013, 18:38 GMT

    @Acharya Anurag:

    Super Six Stage: Provided they qualify, each of the top three teams will retain its ranking from the group stage through to the Super Sixes, regardless of their finishing position in the group. For example, UAE will be ranked A1 whether they finish first, second or third at the end of the group stage. If the fourth or fifth ranked team in a group qualifies for the Super Six stage, they will adopt the ranking of the team that they have replaced. For example if Nepal qualifies at the expense of UAE, Nepal would follow the fixtures for A1 in the Super Six stage.

  • Amit on December 4, 2013, 17:48 GMT

    i hope for kenya and canada qualification,they must qualify,there fan need this.

  • Hussein on December 4, 2013, 13:35 GMT

    Being a fan of Kenyan Cricket team i urge the administration the coaches and players to get together and correct the mistakes of T20 Qualifiers in UAE and study the conditions which will be there in New Zealand AND TRAIN ACCORDINGLY .We need to maybe inject two or three new players in the squad and check our bowling especially.The captain also needs to look into adjusting his bowlers better and not become too predictable.Players who did not perform or did below par should rise to this challenge and re invent themselves like Varaiya become more economical and get wickets same with Nehmiah needs to really bowl well and to his strength and not overdo Batting also conditions will be different there and the technical bench should advice players likewise.Other wise best of luck guys and give cricket fans something to celebrate

  • Dummy4 on December 4, 2013, 12:49 GMT

    This ranking system is silly. Say Uganda or Nepal top their respective groups by winning all of their matches and Canda and Namibia don't make it. So they'll have to be 3rd ranked in the Super Six. Just silly.

    Why can't the Super Sixes' ranks be decided by group stage points table?

  • Dummy4 on December 4, 2013, 12:48 GMT

    we can Play World Cup 2015. Our Heroes proved that, so we are wait a another victory.

  • wayne on December 4, 2013, 9:55 GMT

    Wow, the competition is going to be FIERCE. Group A is hard to call, but you could probably safely put your money on Netherlands in group B. Would love to see Nepal continue to build on their rise, a berth in the 50-over WC would be a perfect way for them to underline their talent and commitment to cricket.

  • No featured comments at the moment.