Winner - India


    Dhoni's among the great modern captains

Ian Chappell: Dhoni took his side to the top without great bowlers, which made his achievement more remarkable

    Dot balls, singles, twos and boundaries

Numbers Game: We analyse teams, batsmen and bowlers on these parameters in the 2011 World Cup. By S Rajesh

    In Tendulkar country

Wright Thompson, an American writer new to cricket, experiences the first few weeks of the World Cup, navigating the madness of a billion fans and chasing the soul of the game

    'Dhoni made the difference'

Time Out: Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar and Ian Chappell discuss India's World Cup triumph and its implications for Indian cricket

    East is where it's at

Rob Steen: Cricket's power centre seems to have shifted Asia-wards - and not just economically

    Video/Audio »   Magazine »    Page 2 »

Points Table

Group A

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
Pakistan 6 5 1 0 0 10 +0.758
Sri Lanka 6 4 1 0 1 9 +2.582
Australia 6 4 1 0 1 9 +1.123
New Zealand 6 4 2 0 0 8 +1.135
Zimbabwe 6 2 4 0 0 4 +0.030
Canada 6 1 5 0 0 2 -1.987
Kenya 6 0 6 0 0 0 -3.042

Group B

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
South Africa 6 5 1 0 0 10 +2.026
India 6 4 1 1 0 9 +0.900
England 6 3 2 1 0 7 +0.072
West Indies 6 3 3 0 0 6 +1.066
Bangladesh 6 3 3 0 0 6 -1.361
Ireland 6 2 4 0 0 4 -0.696
Netherlands 6 0 6 0 0 0 -2.045


ICC Cricket World Cup, 2010/11 (in Bangladesh/India/Sri Lanka ODIs)

Chappell-Hadlee Trophy, 2010/11 (Australia, New Zealand in India ODIs)

One-Day Internationals

World Cup Records


2011 Cricket World Cup

The cricket World Cup is a one-day international tournament that dates back to 1975, when eight teams competed in England. West Indies dominated the first three events, winning the first two and losing surprisingly to India in the final of the third in 1983.

Since those early years the format has expanded and in the last World Cup in 2007, 16 countries played a total of 52 games over 46 days.

Australia have enjoyed a prolific run in recent times, lifting the last three Cups and winning all 22 matches of their 2003 and 2007 campaigns.

The next World Cup will be hosted jointly by Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka in 2011 and will feature 14 nations. The event opens with Bangladesh playing India on February 19 and the final will contested in Mumbai on April 2.

Quote Unquote

Yuvraj Singh on his intentions soon after MS Dhoni steered India to victory in the World Cup

Gary Kirsten strikes an emotional picture in his final press conference as India coach
Gary Kirsten addresses a press conference in Mumbai
Harbhajan Singh is received at his home town Jalandhar
The Sri Lankan team sit with their country's president Mahinda Rajapakse
Kumar Sangakkara smiles on meeting Sri Lankan president Mahinda Rajapakse
Muttiah Muralitharan is presented with a souvenir by Sri Lankan president Mahinda Rajapakse


Peter Borren (c) Adeel Raja
Wesley Barresi (wk) Mudassar Bukhari
Atse Buurman (wk) Tom Cooper
Tom de Grooth Alexei Kervezee
Bradley Kruger Bernard Loots
Pieter Seelaar Eric Szwarczynski
Ryan ten Doeschate Berend Westdijk
Bas Zuiderent

Mind games in Melbourne

Stadiums equate to their cities in the casual cricket watcher's imagination. Melbourne does too, but repeat visits amplify its charms. By Sharda Ugra

West Indies take the crown Clive Lloyd's men win the first World Cup, beating Australia on the longest day of the year, at Lord's
Two in a row West Indies' four-pronged pace attack, and belligerent batting from Richards and Greenidge, help them to a successful title defence
India stun the world Kapil and Co. pull off one of the greatest upsets of all time, coming from nowhere to ambush West Indies for the title
A first for the Aussies Allan Border's side puts one over England in India - the first World Cup played outside England
Tigers on top Imran Khan's Pakistan beat England in the first World Cup to be played in coloured clothing and under lights
Sri Lanka's turn Led by Sanath Jayasuriya and Aravinda de Silva, Sri Lanka make a statement on the world stage
Australia again The fourth World Cup in England, with Super Sixes for the first time, and win No. 2 for Australia
And yet again Australia once more, this time under Ponting, crush all in their path on the way to their third World Cup title
A hat-trick of wins Australia make it three in a row in the West Indies, in an overlong tournament marred by mismanagement and tragedy
Tournament Results
India v Sri Lanka at Mumbai - Apr 2, 2011
India won by 6 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)
India v Pakistan at Mohali - Mar 30, 2011
India won by 29 runs
Sri Lanka v New Zealand at Colombo (RPS) - Mar 29, 2011
Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets (with 13 balls remaining)
Sri Lanka v England at Colombo (RPS) - Mar 26, 2011
Sri Lanka won by 10 wickets (with 63 balls remaining)
New Zealand v South Africa at Dhaka - Mar 25, 2011
New Zealand won by 49 runs
More results »