ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 / Features

Australia v West Indies, 2nd Test, Hobart, 3rd day

Third-umpire gaffe

The third-umpire gaffe while ruling on Andrew Symonds's run-out

Play of the Day by Peter English at Hobart

November 19, 2005

Text size: A | A



Andrew Symonds was beaten by a direct hit from Dwayne Smith, but for a brief moment, he thought he had survived © Getty Images
Enlarge

Technology extended Andrew Symonds's batting return to Tests by about two minutes as Steve Davis, the third umpire, pressed the wrong button when ruling on his run-out decision. Recalled for his third Test, Symonds was completing a start-stop-start single when Dwayne Smith's direct hit caught him well short and Aleem Dar favoured caution by calling in Davis. Using a new computer program, Davis accidentally clicked "not out" and Symonds, who knew he was gone and had angrily wandered almost as far as the boundary, ambled back in a better mood. A quick two-way conversation between the on-field umpires ensued before the red "out" signal finally appeared on the big screen and Symonds departed even more frustrated.

Peter English is the Australasian editor of Cricinfo

RSS Feeds: Peter English

© ESPN EMEA Ltd.

. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
Peter EnglishClose

That '70s India-West Indies show

V Ramnarayan: The rivalry has been a storied one - particularly through one decade of the 20th century

Kumble could be the perfect foil to Kohli

Sidharth Monga: India's new head coach could just be the man to challenge the ideas of India's Test captain

Think you know T20?

Test your knowledge of the shortest format with our quiz
The Cricket Monthly June issue

    'Eating like a pig on the couch tonight'

Food and wine are smashed in our Twitter round-up

News | Features Last 3 days

No stories yet

News | Features Last 3 days

World Cup Videos