ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 / News

India v England, Group B, World Cup 2011, Bangalore

Bresnan reprimanded, England fined

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 28, 2011

Comments: 14 | Text size: A | A

Tim Bresnan clobbered a huge six over midwicket, India v England, World Cup, Group B, Bangalore, February 27, 2011
Tim Bresnan smacked a six shortly before the incident © Associated Press
Enlarge
Related Links
Players/Officials: Tim Bresnan
Series/Tournaments: ICC Cricket World Cup
Teams: England

Tim Bresnan, the England allrounder, has been reprimanded for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during the thrilling tie with India in Bangalore. Bresnan hit the stumps with his bat after being bowled by Piyush Chawla in the penultimate over of England's chase.

Bresnan apologised for the incident and didn't contest the reprimand. He pleaded guilty to contravening Level 1 of the Code of Conduct which relates to the "abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fitting." All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and/or a maximum penalty of the imposition of a fine up to 50 per cent of a player's match fee.

"While giving my verdict, I took into account that Bresnan admitted his mistake, apologised for his action and that it was his first offence," Roshan Mahanama, the ICC match referee, said. "Further, it was encouraging to note that Bresnan on his own initiative met the umpires concerned and reiterated that his action was unintentional."

England were also fined for a slow over-rate after they were found to be one over short of the target at the end of the Indian innings, after time allowances were taken into consideration. Andrew Strauss, the captain, was fined 20% of his match fee, the rest were fined 10%.

© ESPN EMEA Ltd.

Comments: 14 
Posted by krazzyking on (March 1, 2011, 12:52 GMT)

come on... it was plain frustration... plus that moment... it was a good game that could have gone either way but got stuck in the middle

Posted by I.RAGHURAM on (March 1, 2011, 7:02 GMT)

Can anyone explain the meaning of "unintentional" which Refree Roshan Mahanama has quoted while just reprimanding the player for this conduct ???? Does he mean that, Bresnan was hitting the air, but the stumps came on the way ???

Posted by Red37 on (March 1, 2011, 4:31 GMT)

When will you folks accept that India bowled like a schoolboy team. It wasn't the umpires who did a bad job it was as always the players on the pitch. And what was ever luckier in any game I have ever seen than the catch that got Pieterson? But that's cricket, the luck goes both ways.

Posted by Jeet.Singh on (February 28, 2011, 20:47 GMT)

penultimate means next to the last. The second last ball is next to the last. When you say your next door neighbor, next door could be either direction. It means next not after.

Posted by TamilIndian on (February 28, 2011, 18:33 GMT)

@Saminaathan Lena - Penultimate is previous to last. I mean if there were a next to the last why will you call it the last? :-)

Posted by Vasi-Koosi on (February 28, 2011, 18:00 GMT)

Saminaathan Lena, how on earth can there be anything after last? Last is Last? Next after Last? what the hell is that

Posted by   on (February 28, 2011, 13:16 GMT)

penultimate means next to last not previous

Posted by Hindh on (February 28, 2011, 12:46 GMT)

England were able to tie it only because of ridiculous umpiring and pure luck on the day thats it.....

Posted by   on (February 28, 2011, 12:46 GMT)

sorry guyz to interfere but england played much better than the indians....no hard feelings !!!!

Posted by Tigg on (February 28, 2011, 11:46 GMT)

A bouncer isn't a wide unless it is too high. Which on that sort of wicket is rare.

Billy Bowden followed the guidelines. While hawkeye showed it was probably hitting the stumps Billy felt there was enough doubt. Doubt typically goes in favour for the batsman which is what happened. Looking at it, you could see two stumps and it hit him fairly high on the pad and he was very well forward playing a shot. If it didn't turn much he was probably out, if it turned a little then it may have missed.

Comments have now been closed for this article

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
  • ESPN Cricinfo

World Cup Videos

... and that's that

... and that's that
13:40 | Apr 11, 2011
Inside ESPNcricinfo

Inside ESPNcricinfo
12:49 | Apr 10, 2011
 World Cup review

World Cup review
05:26 | Apr 8, 2011
Frozen Out

Frozen Out
46:34 | Apr 5, 2011