ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 / News

Umpires in the World Cup

No quarter-final role for umpire Asoka de Silva

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 21, 2011

Text size: A | A

Umpire Asoka de Silva signals a no-ball, India v New Zealand, World Cup warm-up, Chennai, February 16, 2011
Asoka de Silva won't be officiating in the quarter-finals © Getty Images
Related Links

Asoka de Silva's future on the elite panel of umpires is in serious doubt after he was overlooked for the World Cup quarter-finals. de Silva was not even given a role as fourth official in any of the four games, and was the only one of the 12 members of the ICC's elite panel who has been excluded.

Five men from the back-up group, the ICC's international panel, have been rewarded with quarter-final positions, including third-umpire roles for Richard Kettleborough and Kumar Dharmasena. Asad Rauf, the Pakistani official, was the only elite-panel umpire besides de Silva who won't have an on-field or TV role, and he will be the reserve umpire for the Australia-India game.

The move is a major blow for de Silva, who has had a poor tournament and captured headlines for the wrong reasons when he gave Ireland's Gary Wilson lbw against West Indies. The decision was challenged by Wilson and replays showed the ball struck his pad outside off stump while he was playing a shot, but de Silva did not overturn his decision.

de Silva was subsequently removed from duties in the important matches between England-West Indies and India-West Indies games, and instead was given roles in matches involving the Associates. The only other umpire used during the group stages who has not been given a job in the quarter-finals was the Indian Amiesh Saheba, who is on the international panel.

Pakistan v West Indies, Mirpur, March 23
On field umpires: Billy Bowden and Steve Davis
Third umpire: Daryl Harper
Fourth umpire: Bruce Oxenford
Match referee: Chris Broad

India v Australia, Ahmedabad, March 24
On field umpires: Marais Erasmus and Ian Gould
Third umpire: Richard Kettleborough
Fourth umpire: Asad Rauf
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle

South Africa v New Zealand, Mirpur, March 25
On field umpires: Aleem Dar and Rod Tucker
Third umpire: Kumar Dharmasena
Fourth umpire: Nigel Llong
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama

Sri Lanka v England, Colombo, March 26
On field umpires: Billy Doctrove and Simon Taufel
Third umpire: Tony Hill
Fourth umpire: Shavir Tarapore
Match referee: Jeff Crowe


. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
News | Features Last 3 days
  • No stories yet

World Cup Videos