ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 / News

Victory Day T20 Cup

Das, Rubel secure title for Prime Bank

Mohammad Isam

December 31, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Prime Bank Cricket Club won the Victory Day T20 Cup, Prime Bank Cricket Club v UCB-BCB XI, Victory Day T20 Cup, December 31, 2013
Prime Bank Cricket Club enjoyed a straight forward victory © BCB
Related Links

Prime Bank Cricket Club marched to the Victory Day T20 Cup title on the back of a brisk half-century from Litton Das, but Rubel Hossain produced the key contribution with a wicket and two vital, brilliant catches as they beat UCB-BCB XI by 55 runs in front of a decent crowd in Mirpur.

Set a target of 175, UCB-BCB's chase began ignominiously with captain Tamim Iqbal given out caught and bowled when it seemed that the ball had ballooned off his pad without any contact with bat. To make matters worse, Tamim's protest and slow walk back to the dugout cost him a Tk 10,000 ($129) fine.

UCB-BCB were in the midst of a recovery when Rubel hunted down a loft from Imrul Kayes and took a smart, low catch on the boundary. He picked up another difficult catch on the boundary towards the end of the game as he intercepted a Muktar Ali strike which seemed headed for six. Before the catches, Rubel picked up the wicket of Rony Talukder, UCB-BCB's top-scorer, in the seventh over.

Earlier, Prime Bank posted 174 for 6 in 20 overs with Das striking six fours and two sixes to make 62 off 39 balls. They were threatening to go past the 200-run mark but Al-Amin Hossain's three wickets slowed them down.

Rubel won the Man-of-the-Match award while Anamul Haque, the tournament's top-scorer, picked up the Man-of-the-Series trophy.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here

RSS Feeds: Mohammad Isam

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Comments: 1 
. Your ESPN name '' will be used to display your comments. Please click here to edit this.
Comments have now been closed for this article

Posted by Dummy4 on (January 2, 2014, 0:54 GMT)

my 11: tamim, shamsur, anamul sabbir (PT leg spin), shakib (leg spin B), Rahim, Nasir (PT off spin), Zia (MP B) Gazi (off spin B), Rubel (Pace B), Al-amin (Pace B). 2 pacers, 1 medium pacers. 2 spinners and 2 part time spinners. B=Bowler, PT= Part Time, MP= Medium Pace Hard hitters: tamim, shamsur, sabbir, Zia, Good batsmen: Anamul, Shakib, Rahim, Nasir Gazi is a good hitter too. Forhad reza, arafat sunny, mithun ali, mashrafee are reserves

Email Feedback Print
Mohammad IsamClose
News | Features Last 3 days
  • No stories yet
News | Features Last 3 days
  • No stories yet

World Cup Videos