Zimbabwe XI v Afghanistan, Intercontinental Cup, Mutare, 3rd day

Taibu keeps Zimbabwe fighting

Cricinfo staff

August 18, 2009

Text size: A | A

Day 3 Zimbabwe XI 350 and 267 for 6 (Taibu 120, Mutizwa 56*) lead Afghanistan 427 (Noor Ali 130, Nabi 120, Shahzad 79, Maruma ) by 190 runs

Mohammad Nabi toils hard, Zimbabwe XI v Afghanistan, ICC Intercontinental Cup, 3rd day, Mutare, August 18, 2009
Mohammad Nabi had the lone success, dismissing Timycen Maruma for 9 © ICC
Related Links

Tatenda Taibu's second century of the match kept Zimbabwe XI alive in their four-day game against Afghanistan in Mutare. Zimbabwe, trailing by 77 on the first innings, had slipped to 102 for 5 before Taibu and Forster Mutizwa hauled the home side to a degree of safety.

Taibu, serving a ten-match ban from the national side, and Mutizwa put on 165 before Taibu's dismissal signalled the close of play. There were 19 boundaries in Taibu's 195-ball effort while Mutizwa was more patient, taking 129 deliveries to reach 56. They were helped by some indisciplined bowling from Afghanistan, who overstepped on 18 occasions in the innings.

Afghanistan got a hefty first-innings lead despite resuming the day only seven runs ahead with three wickets in hand due to a century from No. 7 Mohammad Nabi. He completely dominated a 70-run eighth-wicket stand with Dawlat Ahmadzai, who contributed only six runs. Nabi stroked 13 fours and two sixes before falling to offspinner Timycen Maruma, who finished with six wickets. Afghanistan's innings folded within an over of Nabi's dismissal, with no runs added to the total.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Afghanistan v Scotland at Dubai (DSC) - Dec 2-4, 2010
Afghanistan won by 7 wickets
Kenya v Afghanistan at Nairobi (Gym) - Oct 2-5, 2010
Afghanistan won by 167 runs
Zim XI v Scotland at Harare - Sep 26-29, 2010
Scotland won (walkover without a ball bowled)
Zim XI v Ireland at Harare - Sep 20-23, 2010
Match drawn
Canada v Ireland at Toronto - Aug 31-Sep 3, 2010
Ireland won by 6 wickets
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days