ICC reprimands Parker, Shenwari
Scotland's Matthew Parker and Afghanistan's Samiullah Shenwari have both been reprimanded and warned of their future conduct for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during Saturday's Intercontinental Cup final, which Afghanistan won by seven wickets. A reprimand and a warning is the minimum penalty for a Level 1 violation.
The two players admitted to the charges and accepted match referee David Jukes' sanctions, thereby eliminating the need for a disciplinary hearing. Parker was guilty of violating Section 12, Article 2.1.6 of the code, which covers pointing or gesturing towards the pavilion by a bowler or a fielder during an international match.
"It is very unfortunate that Mr Parker acted in this way," Jukes said in a statement, "and whilst I am certain that he was highly elated - following the fall of such an important wicket - he must take responsibility for his actions, and learn that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated in international cricket."
Shenwari admitted to violating Article 2.1.5 of the same section, which deals with excessive appealing. "Excitement and occasion aside, it is unfortunate that Mr Shenwari failed to follow the advice he was offered by both the on-field umpires and his captain," Jukes said. "He has since been warned and reprimanded, and I sincerely hope that he has learned that this type of behaviour is not acceptable and will not be tolerated." Shenwari took 3 for 15 in Scotland's second innings, helping to bowl them out for 82, and set-up Afghanistan's victory.
Parker was reported to the match referee by on-field umpires Kumara Dharmasena and Buddhi Pradhanm, who both also reported Shenwari, along with third umpire Fidel Ja'ary. The match referee's decision is final and binding.