England v WI, 17th match, Champions Trophy October 29, 2006

Bravo cleared of wrongdoing

Cricinfo staff



Dwayne Bravo struck his maiden one-day hundred and was cleared of any wrongdoing in the field © Getty Images

Dwayne Bravo, the West Indies allrounder, has been found not guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during yesterday's match against England at Ahmedabad following the dismissal of Michael Yardy.

Bravo was charged by the ICC for failing to "conduct play within the spirit of the game" when he claimed a catch to dismiss Yardy. Replays suggested the ball did not carry to Bravo and his muted response at claiming the wicket didn't help his cause.

"Television replays appeared to show the ball bounced but Dwayne thought he had taken the catch cleanly," Mike Procter, the match referee said. "From my experience as a player I know that can happen, but we needed to ask the question to make sure it was a genuine mistake by the player.

"For that reason the umpires were right to lay the charge but after we all talked it through I had no reason to disbelieve Dwayne's version of events."

It concluded a match of mixed fortunes for Bravo who, despite registering his maiden one-day hundred, ended on the losing side as England claimed a consolation three-wicket win.