Champions Trophy 2008 July 10, 2008

Australia name preliminary Champions Trophy squad

Cricinfo staff

Top Curve
Preliminary squad
Bottom Curve
Australia have announced their preliminary 30-man squad for the Champions Trophy in Pakistan in September, with Shaun Tait being recalled as he continues to work his way back into international cricket after taking a self-imposed break due to exhaustion. The squad also includes five newcomers in Xavier Doherty, Ryan Harris, Brett Geeves, George Bailey and Tim Paine.

"The squad recognises the continued success of the one-day side and its outstanding efforts in the West Indies, together with the strong performance of our young emerging talent in the Ford Ranger Cup," Andrew Hilditch, the chairman of Australia's national selection panel, said.

Offspinners Nathan Hauritz and Dan Cullen and legspinner Cameron White will stake their claim for the spinners' spot in the final squad. "Closer to final selection a decision will be made on the make-up of the squad and whether a specialist spinner needs to be added to the final 15," Hilditch said. Beau Casson, he said, missed out as he needed "more exposure" to the one-day format.

Tasmania's Ford Rangers Cup success last season means that they have provided four of the newcomers to the squad. Doherty, the left-arm spinner, and seamer Geeves were the among four bowlers who finished joint-highest on the wicket-takers' list with 15 scalps. Paine, the wicketkeeper who has turned into a specialist batsman, contributed 261 runs at 37.38, while Bailey, despite his limited success - 258 runs at 25.80 - is marked as one for the future. Harris, the bowling allrounder who moved to Queensland from South Australia, has taken 49 wickets at 35.51 in his List A career.

Hildicth added that Ben Hilfenhaus was not considered as he was recovering from an injury. The squad will be whittled down to a final 15 on or before the August 11 deadline.