ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2008 / Players / Gurinder Sandhu

Gurinder Sandhu      

Full name Gurinder Singh Sandhu

Born June 14, 1993, Blacktown, New South Wales

Current age 21 years 317 days

Major teams Australia, Australia Under-19s, Delhi Daredevils, New South Wales, New South Wales Under-23s, Prime Minister's XI, Sydney Thunder

Playing role Bowler

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm fast-medium

Gurinder Singh Sandhu
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
ODIs 2 - - - - - - - - - - - 0 0
First-class 17 23 5 357 97* 19.83 646 55.26 0 2 33 11 10 0
List A 31 15 8 121 21* 17.28 195 62.05 0 0 11 1 8 0
Twenty20 17 5 2 18 7* 6.00 25 72.00 0 0 1 0 5 0
Bowling averages
Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
ODIs 2 2 120 107 3 2/49 2/49 35.66 5.35 40.0 0 0 0
First-class 17 31 2773 1461 45 5/31 7/78 32.46 3.16 61.6 4 1 0
List A 31 31 1663 1374 55 5/35 5/35 24.98 4.95 30.2 1 1 0
Twenty20 17 17 378 419 21 3/19 3/19 19.95 6.65 18.0 0 0 0
Career statistics
ODI debut Australia v India at Melbourne, Jan 18, 2015 scorecard
Last ODI Australia v England at Hobart, Jan 23, 2015 scorecard
ODI statistics
First-class debut Victoria v New South Wales at Melbourne, Mar 7-9, 2013 scorecard
Last First-class Western Australia v New South Wales at Perth, Mar 13-16, 2015 scorecard
List A debut New South Wales v Western Australia at Sydney, Jan 30, 2013 scorecard
Last List A Australia v England at Hobart, Jan 23, 2015 scorecard
Twenty20 debut Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder at Sydney, Dec 8, 2012 scorecard
Last Twenty20 Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Thunder at Adelaide, Jan 12, 2015 scorecard
Recent matches
Bat & Bowl Team Opposition Ground Match Date Scorecard
0, 0/89 NSW v West Aust Perth 13 Mar 2015 FC
0/27, 97*, 1/31 NSW v Tasmania Sydney 5 Mar 2015 FC
77, 1/46, 1, 0/29 NSW v West Aust Newcastle 25 Feb 2015 FC
11, 0/8, 1, 1/15 NSW v Victoria Wagga Wagga 15 Feb 2015 FC
1/49, 28, 0/40 NSW v Tasmania Hobart 7 Feb 2015 FC
2/49 Australia v England Hobart 23 Jan 2015 ODI # 3589
1/58 Australia v India Melbourne 18 Jan 2015 ODI # 3582
1/7 Syd Thunder v Strikers Adelaide 12 Jan 2015 T20
2/17 Syd Thunder v Hurricanes Sydney 9 Jan 2015 T20
0/37 Syd Thunder v Scorchers Perth 1 Jan 2015 T20
Profile

A tall fast bowler who stands 194 centimetres, Gurinder Sandhu burst on to the Australian domestic scene in 2012-13 after earning a New South Wales rookie contract for the first time. By the end of the summer Sandhu had played for Australia A and the Prime Minister's XI and most remarkably had won the Steve Waugh Medal as the best New South Wales player for the year, despite playing only two Sheffield Shield games and four in the Ryobi Cup. But his habit of taking wickets - 14 in the Shield at 11.85 and 14 at 14.57 in the Ryobi Cup - could not be ignored. Sandhu's height gives him impressive bounce and he can swing the ball both ways, which again made him a handful in the 2013-14 Ryobi Cup, when he collected 11 wickets at 28.09. But his Shield form dropped away in 2013-14 and he needed to find some improvement in the longer version to again make himself a regular for New South Wales. Sandhu was born in Australia to Indian parents who moved from Punjab to Sydney in the 1980s, and his father Iqbal's job as a taxi driver allowed him to ferry Sandhu around to all his junior cricket matches.
ESPNcricinfo staff

Latest Articles
Latest Photos

Jan 23, 2015

Gurinder Sandhu dismissed Ian Bell and Eoin Morgan in 42nd over, Australia v England, Carlton Mid Tri-Series, Hobart, January 23, 2015

Gurinder Sandhu dismissed Ian Bell and Eoin Morgan in 42nd over

© Getty Images

Jan 18, 2015

Gurinder Sandhu celebrates after taking his first ODI wicket, Australia v India, Carlton Mid Tri-series, Melbourne, January 18, 2015

Gurinder Sandhu celebrates after taking his first ODI wicket

© Getty Images

Aug 7, 2014

Gurinder Sandhu sends down a delivery, Australia A v South Africa A, 1st unofficial Test, Townsville, August 7, 2014

Gurinder Sandhu sends down a delivery

© Getty Images

Country Fixtures Country Results
TBA v Australians at North Sound
May 27-29, 2015 (14:44 EDT | 13:44 CDT | 11:44 PDT)
1st Test: West Indies v Australia at Roseau
Jun 3-7, 2015 (14:44 EDT | 13:44 CDT | 11:44 PDT)
2nd Test: West Indies v Australia at Kingston
Jun 11-15, 2015 (15:44 EDT | 14:44 CDT | 12:44 PDT)
Kent v Australians at Canterbury
Jun 25-28, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Essex v Australians at Chelmsford
Jul 1-4, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days