ICL announces four-member umpires' panel November 22, 2007

Ajit Wadekar joins ICL as match referee

Cricinfo staff

Ajit Wadekar, along with Erapalli Prasanna, will be one of two match referees in the ICL's inaugural tournament © Cricinfo Ltd.
Ajit Wadekar, the former India captain, has joined the Indian Cricket League (ICL) and has been appointed match referee along with Erapalli Prasanna, his former national team-mate.

Wadekar's move means he has effectively severed all ties with the Indian board, which is hostile to the ICL. Wadekar, along with former captains Chandu Borde and Gundappa Viswanath, was set to be paraded in the Eden Gardens on November 30 before the start of the second Test against Pakistan, after accepting an invite from the Cricket Association of Bengal. But his association with the ICL makes his attendance untenable.

Wadekar, 66, was captain during India's historic wins against the West Indies and England in the early '70s. He played 37 Tests matches, scoring 2113 runs at 31.07 and 15380 runs at the first-class level at 47.03. After his retirement, Wadekar was the manager of the Indian team on many occasions in the'90s.

The ICL also announced a panel of four umpires for its inaugural Twenty20 tournament which starts in Chandigarh from November 30. Ray Julian, a respected umpire in the English county circuit, having officiated in more than 500 first-class matches, is the most experienced member of the team. Trevor Jesty, Jeff Evans, and Dean Johnson are other three umpires on the panel.

Commenting on the appointments, Kapil Dev, the chairman of the ICL's executive board, said: "Our umpires and referees have rich experience of the game and an eye for precision too. We are happy to have them with us."