England in India 2011-12 October 13, 2011

New Powerplay conditions 'tricky' - Dhoni

ESPNcricinfo staff

MS Dhoni, the India captain, has said that adjusting to the ICC's revised playing conditions regarding Powerplays will be "tricky" during the ODI series against England, which begins in Hyderabad on October 14. The changes to the playing conditions took effect on October 1, and India and England will be using them for the first time in this series.

Teams will have to start the batting and bowling Powerplays at the beginning of any over between the 16th and the 36th over for a full game. Under the previous playing conditions, teams could begin the Powerplays from the start of the 11th over to the start of the 46th over.

"It's a bit tricky as we have not yet played any match under this new Powerplay," Dhoni told PTI. "It would certainly need a different approach as the second and third Powerplay will now be taken within the 16th and the 40th over.

"Earlier, while chasing, teams would be happy to keep the batting Powerplay for the last five overs. But now we have to make few changes in tactics. It will have different results till we get used to it."

The other major change to the playing conditions is the use of two new balls - one from either end - during an innings. The mandatory change of ball that took place at the end of the 34th over has been done away with. Dhoni said this amendment could reduce the amount of reverse swing because each ball will be only 25-overs-old.

"A bit of swing will definitely be there but there may not be as much reverse swing as we expect in the subcontinent," he said. "Now the reverse swing also depends a lot on the nature of outfield and how you make the ball, but of course legally."

The home ODIs against England are India's first international matches since the poor summer in England, where they lost the Test series 0-4 and the ODIs 0-3. It was primarily the inability of India's bowlers to contain that led to the defeats in the ODIs.

"During the tour of England, performance of the batsmen was impressive. Here we have a different bowling department and it's an opportunity for them to do well in home conditions," Dhoni said. "They have played a lot of IPL but this will be a different ball game.

"We have had a few youngsters who did well in England. Also the wickets were very different out there. For us what matters most is good performance in all three departments."

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 14, 2011, 13:28 GMT

    Both batting and bowling powerplays have to taken be between 16th and 40th over (for a full game). But what is the rule if neither batting nor bowling powerplay is taken until the end of 30th over. So after this only 10 overs are left between 31-40 overs. Then how would it be handled, if both batting and bowling captains want to take the powerplay between 36-40 overs. Same scenario could have been there in previous regime as well where both teams might want to take power play between 46-50 overs. I am sure this possibilty would have been thought off by the rule makers and there would be some more rule to circumvent this situation. Does anybody reading this know about it?

  • Dummy4 on October 14, 2011, 13:07 GMT

    What happens if they mix the the two balls ? who is in charge of each ball used for each end ? I'm confused.

  • Sunil on October 14, 2011, 8:42 GMT

    Vikas, rule is simple.bowlers cant choose which bowl to ball. one ball will be bowled from one end and another ball will be bowled from another end.so basically every over the ball is changed.

  • John on October 14, 2011, 8:41 GMT

    For those wondering or confused, the rule regarding the ball was, up to now, that one ball was used for overs 1 to 34 and then a second ball was used for overs 35 to 50. The ball change is mainly so that the batsmen can see the ball, which tends to discolour easily. Now, there will two balls used at the same time, one from each end. Each ball will be used for the full 25 overs from that end. This used to be the way it was done in Australia back in the 80s.

  • Dummy4 on October 14, 2011, 8:38 GMT

    @viksgupta, the rule will mean that there will be 2 balls associated with 2 ends of bowling. So ball # 1 will be used for bowling overs # 1,3,5,7,9 etc (odd#) and it will be in umpire#1's pocket during the overs from the other end. Ball # 2 will be used for overs # 2,4,6,8,10, 20, 50 etc and it will be in umpire#2's pocket when ball # 1 is in use.

  • Pratyush on October 14, 2011, 8:30 GMT

    MSD keeps on making excuses for the forthcoming bad performances. Seems even he believes, his luck is running out. I am not against MSD, I am against someone who is impersonating MSD. This guy used to be the man who took everything head on. Come On, MS, for the people who have been with you and really want to see you do well, once again; start afresh. Forget about the results, just play the way you can. Be Honest, Be Yourself. Or am I asking too much?

  • V.L on October 14, 2011, 8:21 GMT

    @Front-Foot-Lunge You mean like winning two 50-over Wordlcups and maintaining the Number 1 status for 2 and half years?

  • Dummy4 on October 14, 2011, 8:15 GMT

    New young faces in bowling department hopefully some of them capitalises ..

  • Dummy4 on October 14, 2011, 7:59 GMT

    @Viksgupta: its that for all odd overs (1,3,5...) they'll use one ball, and for all even overs they'll use another...simple! but simply unwanted! this will discourage spinners......

  • Vikas on October 14, 2011, 7:33 GMT

    wats with this Two new balls from either end rule?? Does that mean Ball will be changed every alternate over fr different bowlers?? How will bowlers decide which bowl is doing good fr them? can sm1 explain wat exactly is ths rule?

  • No featured comments at the moment.