The picturesque ground - almost a cliché with its white picket fence and overhanging trees - is named after Don Bradman who grew up in Bowral, in the New South Wales southern highlands, south-west of Sydney. He first played on the ground when aged 12, in 1920, and scored 29 not out. Until 1946 the pitch was concrete, but it was relaid with soil in 1946 and was named in The Don's honour in 1947.
When the Bradman Foundation was created in the 1980s to build a museum of Australian cricket history adjacent to the ground, the Bradman Oval was renovated as part of the project. In 1990-91 it hosted its first major touring side, with England playing a select Bradman XI. There has been a one-day fixture against touring teams at this ground in most seasons since then, although the less forgiving schedules has seen that tradition fall away even though such games drew large crowds.
Though yet to host a first-class fixture, Bradman Oval has been a frequent venue for NSW Second XI matches. It staged its first full women's international in February 2000 when Australia played England and in 2008 hosted the only Ashes Test of the summer.