England A in India January 28, 2004

Bahutule to lead India A

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Sairaj Bahutule: back in the spotlight

Sairaj Bahutule, the legspinner from Mumbai, will lead India A in three matches against England A. The two teams are scheduled to play three one-dayers in February. The first two will be played in Bangalore on February 9 and 10 while the final game will be played at Chennai on February 12. England A then play a four-day warm-up match at Chennai before traveling to north India to take part in the Duleep Trophy.

The India A team was announced in Bangalore by SK Nair, BCCI's honorary secretary. He also told the media that India would be playing a three-nation one-day tournament in Holland in August, against Australia and Pakistan. Nair added that he would be visiting Amstelveen in Holland to ensure that the infrastructure was in order before the Indians embarked on tour.

India A Sairaj Bahutule (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Mongia, S Sriram, Mithun Manhas, TP Singh, Y Venugopal Rao, Ajay Ratra (wk), Ramesh Powar, Munaf Patel, Siddharth Trivedi, Shib Shanker Paul, JP Yadav, Sreekumar Nair.