India Under-19 in Pakistan 2006 August 14, 2006

Chawla to lead Under-19 team in Pakistan

Cricinfo staff

Piyush Chawla will don the captain's role in Pakistan © International Cricket Council

Piyush Chawla, the legspinner, has been appointed captain of the India Under-19 team for the tour of Pakistan next month.

The selection committee named a 15-member squad following a meeting at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. The squad includes the top performers on the recent U-19 tour to England, with Vijaykumar Yo Mahesh, Abu Nacheem, Ishant Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem and Tanmay Srivastav. Cheteshwar Pujara, the opening batsman, has been appointed vice-captain.

Bodapati Sumanth of Andhra Pradesh, who also toured England, will join the team for the one-dayers, along with Sunny Sohal (Punjab) and Sourabh Bandekar (Goa).

Chawla, who played one Test for India earlier this year, had an impressive tour of Australia with the India A team for the Top End Series, picking up 13 wickets in five matches.

Piyush Chawla (capt - Uttar Pradesh), Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-capt - Saurashtra), Parvez Aziz (Assam), Tanmay Srivastav (Uttar Pradesh), Virat Kohli (Delhi), Ravindra Jadeja (Saurashtra), Sumit Sharma (Punjab), Omkar Gaurav (Mumbai), Uday Kaul (Punjab), Shahbaz Nadeem (Jharkhand), Sunil Raju (Karnataka), Vijaykumar Yo Mahesh (Tamil Nadu), Abu Nachim (Assam), Ishant Sharma (Delhi) and Ishwar Choudhary (Gujarat).