Ranji Trophy Super League, 4th round, 2nd day December 18, 2006

Haryana record thumping win

Cricinfo staff

Haryana 337 (Sharma 126, Rana 110) beat Uttar Pradesh 71 and 178 (Budhwar 4-36, Joginder 3-32) by an innings and 88 runs
Defending champions Uttar Pradesh slumped to their second defeat of the season, crashing to a humiliating innings and 88 runs loss to Haryana on the second day at Rohtak. Having been shot out for 71 in the first innings, they collapsed for 178 the second time round. Haryana carried on their impressive batting performance this morning, stretching their total to 327 with Sumit Sharma and Sachin Rana completing fine hundreds. Trailing by 266 in the first innings, UP were done in by Haryana's new-ball bowlers. Joginder Sharma, who'd snared seven wickets in the first innings, scalped three more and Sanjay Budhwar ended with an impressive 4 for 36. day.

Hyderabad 253 for 5 (Vinay 64*) lead Mumbai 115 by 138 runs
Hyderabad strengthened their position on the second day with a solid batting effort, gaining a 138-run lead with five wickets in hand. Resuming at 66 for 1 overnight, Hyderabad rode on plucky efforts from all their top-order batsmen with D Vinay Kumar standing out with 64. They stitched together vital partnerships of 53, 37, 23 and 41 to boost Hyderabad to a cosy position at the end of the day. Swapnil Hazare and Ramesh Powar struck twice apiece.

Bengal 227 for 5 (Shukla 50*) trail Gujarat 329 by 102 runs
Laxmi Ratan Shukla led Bengal's response on the second day at Kolkata as their game against Gujarat hung in a balance. Bengal were still 102 runs behind with five wickets in hand as Shukla, batting on 50, carried on useful contributions from the top order. Rohan Gavaskar gave him company with a useful 45. Gujarat hung on in the contest through Hitesh Majumdar's medium-pace effort, picking up two wickets and pegging them back.

Delhi 103 for 5 (Kohli 40*) trail Karnataka 446 (Naidu 122, Sharma 4-99) by 343 runs

Thilak Naidu's attacking century was the highlight of the day as Karnataka wrested the initiative after the Delhi seamers ran through the middle order in the morning session. Resuming on 299 for 3, the wheels started to come off for Karnataka as they lost six wickets for just 62. That brought KP Appanna and Naidu together, and Naidu played according to plan, hogging the strike while Appanna guarded his wicket at the other end. The bowling lost its sting as the seamers were guilty of bowling too short or too full, failing to slip in the yorkers, thereby allowing Naidu to use the long handle to good effect.

Though Ashish Nehra picked up four wickets, leaked 171 runs while Ishant Sharma fared comparatively better, conceding 99. Sharma wrapped up the innings, dismissing Naidu for 122 to pick up his four-wicket haul. Matters got worse for Delhi in their reply, losing their first four wickets for just 14 runs, rocked by the seamers B Akhil and Vinay Kumar. Virat Kohli stood firm, remaining undefeated on 40 with Puneet Bisht as the pair took the score to 103 for 5 at stumps with plenty of repair work still to be done.

Maharashtra 50 for 1 trail Punjab 550 (Dharmani 113, Sharma 93, Ablish 76, Bahutule 5-160) by 500 runs
A 123-run last wicket partnership between captain Pankaj Dharmani and Luv Ablish propelled Punjab to a commanding 550 in their first innings. Dharmani, who retired hurt on 71 on the first day, resumed his innings and remained unbeaten on 113. Ablish, the right-arm seamer who began the season with five-wicket haul against Gujarat, played an entertaining knock of 76 off just 75 balls, with nine fours and three hits over the fence. Vipul Sharma, the overnight batsman, was unlucky to fall seven short of his ton, and was one of legspinner Sairaj Bahutule's five victims. In reply, Maharashtra lost Harshad Khadiwale early for 5, before Dheeraj Jadhav and Hrishikesh Kanitkar took the score to 50 at stumps.

Saurashtra 70 for 0 (Jogiyani 44*) trail Tamil Nadu 500 for 8 dec (Sharath 109, Satish 93) by 430 runs
Meaty contributions by the middle-order propped Tamil Nadu to 500 against Saurashtra at Rajkot. Half-centuries by R Satish, K Vasudevadas and R Naresh strengthened Tamil Nadu's position after Sreedharan Sharath laid the platform with a century on day one. Sharath fell after adding six to his overnight score, but Satish carried on from where he finished the previous day, scoring at over a run-a-ball in his 93 which included 14 fours. Vasudevadas and Naresh then frustrated Saurashtra further with a stand of 114 for the sixth wicket. Naresh's 64 was the more agressive knock, coming off 95 balls with six fours and two sixes. Sandip Jobanputra, the left-arm seamer, picked up four wickets. Saurarshtra made a solid reply with the openers - Sagar Jogiyani and Kanaiya Vaghela - adding 70 till stumps.

Baroda 33 for 0 trail Andhra 342 (Reddy 148, Pawar 7-87) by 309 runs
Prasad Reddy's patient 148 off 474 balls took Andhra to 342 in their first innings against Baroda. Reddy nearly carried his bat before he was run-out in the final over of Andhra's innings. He was involved in stands 54 and 70 with B Sumanth and Mohammad Faiq respectively, with Faiq contributing 41. Rajesh Pawar, the left-arm spinner, was the only bowler who managed to pick up wickets, finishing with figures of 7 for 87 in 48 overs. Baroda began cautiously, with the openers adding 33 in 17 overs till stumps.