Ranji One-Day Trophy, 2006-07

Fazal hundred sets up Vidarbha triumph

Cricinfo staff

February 22, 2007

Text size: A | A

Vidarbha 274 for 2 (Fazal 129*, Afzal 58) beat Madhya Pradesh 271 for 7 (Mishra 110, Shadab 58) by 8 wickets

Vidarbha rode on a superb unbeaten 129 from Faiz Fazal, the opener, to complete a comfortable eight-wicket victory against Madhya Pradesh in Indore. Set a challenging target of 275, Vidarbha got off to a perfect start with Fazal and Harshal Shitoot putting together 99 for the opening wicket. Shitoot fell for 49, but Fazal then found an ideal foil in Owamir Afzal, who made 58 and added 150 for the second wicket to seal the game. Madhya Pradesh's score was built around a 113-ball 110 from Monish Mishra. His partnership with Shadab Khan, who made 58, helped stabilise the innings after they had slumped to 78 for 4. Mishra hammered four sixes and six fours in his knock, and was dismissed off the last ball of the innings. Vidarbha have now lost all three matches in the tournament, while Madhya Pradesh have won one out of two.

Uttar Pradesh 246 (Shukla 54, Yadav 4-28) beat Railways 183 by 63 runs

A strong bowling performance by Uttar Pradesh helped them to their second win in two days as they trounced Railways by 63 runs at the Emerald High School Ground in Indore. After being put in to bat, Uttar Pradesh lost three early wickets - including the crucial one of Mohammad Kaif, who followed his blistering 151 against Rajasthan with just 3 - but were propped up by Ravikant Shukla, who made 54, and other useful contributions from Suresh Raina (39 retired hurt), Ali Martaza and Parvinder Singh (30 each). Jai P Yadav was the most successful bowler for Railways, taking 4 for 28. Chasing a target of 247, Railways were never in the hunt, losing half their side with only 75 on the board. Karan Sharma made 40, while Rahul Deb, the wicketkeeper, made an unbeaten 32, but those contributions only delayed the inevitable.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
7th Match, Group A: KKR v Lahore Lions at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Sep 21
KKR won by 4 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
8th Match, Group A: Super Kings v Dolphins at Bangalore
Sep 22, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
10th Match, Group A: KKR v Scorchers at Hyderabad (Deccan)
Sep 24, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
11th Match, Group A: Super Kings v Lahore Lions at Bangalore
Sep 25, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
13th Match, Group B: Kings XI v Northern D at Mohali
Sep 26, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days