India Under-19 in Sri Lanka, 2007 June 29, 2007

Srivastava to lead Under-19 team to Sri Lanka

Cricinfo staff

Tanmay Srivastava, the Uttar Pradesh middle-order batsman, will lead the Indian Under-19 side for the tour of Sri Lanka next month. The tour includes a one-day tri-series also featuring Bangladesh, followed by two three-day games.

The squad includes KP Appanna, the promising Karnataka left-arm spinner, and allrounder Ravi Jadeja, a regular in India's recent U-19 tours. Appanna toured with the U-19 squad to New Zealand earlier this year. He picked up 21 wickets in six first-class games this season, including a five-wicket haul.

Four members from the one-day squad - Manish Pandey, Hashad Khadiwale, Abu Nechim Ahmed and Iqbal Abdullah - will return after the tri-series. They will be replaced by Rohan Banerjee, Ankit Tiwari, Dhawal Kulkarni and Swapnil Singh for the three-day games.

Squad: Tanmay Srivastava (capt, Uttar Pradesh), Ravi Jadeja (vice capt. Saurashtra), Abhinav Mukund (Tamil Nadu), Harshad Khadiwale (Maharashtra), Virat Kohli (Delhi), Manish Pandey (Karnataka), Saurabh Tiwari (Jharkhand), Shreevats Goswami (Bengal), Aman Preet Singh (Punjab), Pradeep Sangwan (Delhi), Abu Nechim Ahmed (Assam), Shrikant Munde (Maharashtra), GVS Prasad (Assam), KP Appanna (Karnataka), Iqbal Abdullah (Mumbai)


July 15 - Arrival
July 18 - One-day warm-up match
July 19 - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
July 20 - Sri Lanka v India
July 22 - India v Bangladesh
July 23 - Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
July 25- Sri Lanka v India
July 26 - India v Bangladesh
July 28 - Final
July 31 - Aug 1 - Warm-up match
Aug 4-6 - 1st three-day match
Aug 9-11 - 2nd three-day match