Four more from Punjab sign up

Stuart Binny among eight players to join ICL

Cricinfo staff

August 31, 2007

Text size: A | A

The Indian Cricket League's roster continues to grow, with eight more players, including Stuart Binny - the son of former India player Roger Binny - signing up. The others include four - Amit Uniyal, Luv Ablish, Bipul Sharma and Karanveer - from Punjab and three - Abu Nechim, Sujay Tarafdar and Parvez Aziz - from Assam.

Binny, a Karnataka and former U-19 player, told the Times of India, "As a player I have been looking to play professional cricket in the last decade or so. I have always wanted to play with top players and ICL has some of the best domestic players and the competition should be exciting."

Talking about his decision, he said, "It took me some time. My father and I went through the details and in the end he left it to me and the decision to play the league was all mine."

Meanwhile, the exodus of Punjab players to the ICL continues, the four joining the seven other players who signed up from the state. While Uniyal, Ablish and Sharma are Ranji players, Karanveer toured with the India Under-19 team last year.

"The BCCI's pay package is up, but those who get to play two-three matches wouldn't gain much," Uniyal told the Hindustan Times. Uniyal, an allrounder, has been a regular in the Punjab Ranji team. "We are walking away just because it seems more practical to us. But we are grateful to the PCA [Punjab Cricket Association] for providing us with all the opportunities," said Ablish, who was the highest wicket-taker for Punjab in the Ranji Trophy last season.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st Investec Test: England v India at Nottingham - Jul 9-13
India 457 England 69/1
2nd unofficial Test: Australia A v India A at Brisbane
Jul 13-17, 2014 (09:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 19:30 EDT | 18:30 CDT | 16:30 PDT)
2nd Investec Test: England v India at Lord's
Jul 17-21, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Australia A v India A at Darwin
Jul 20, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:30 GMT | 20:30 EDT | 19:30 CDT | 17:30 PDT)
India A v Sth Africa A at Darwin
Jul 22, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:30 GMT | 20:30 EDT | 19:30 CDT | 17:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days