Ranji Trophy 2010 - 11

Wasim Jaffer retained as Mumbai captain

Cricinfo staff

July 31, 2010

Text size: A | A

Wasim Jaffer drives straight during his 68, Mumbai v Rest of India, Irani Cup, Nagpur, 2nd day, October 2, 2009
Wasim Jaffer remains Mumbai's captain after two successful seasons © ESPNcricinfo Ltd
Related Links
Players/Officials: Wasim Jaffer
Teams: India

Former India opener Wasim Jaffer has been retained as Mumbai captain for the 2010-2011 Ranji Trophy. Jaffer, who is currently playing club cricket in England, led Mumbai to the title last season, beating Karnataka by six runs in a thrilling final that showcased all that is good about the five-day game. Mumbai has yet to lose a game under Jaffer and are the two-time defending champions.

The provisional squad includes 10 out of the 11 men that played in last season's final. The missing man is wicketkeeper Vinayak Samant, who quit the team earlier this year in the hopes of prolonging his first-class career with another team. Aditya Tare, the 22-year-old who has only played one first-class match, could be in line to replace him.

Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan have also been named in the provisional side.

Mumbai Ranji Trophy squad: Wasim Jaffer (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Rohit Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Iqbal Abdulla, Ajinkya Rahane, Dhawal Kulkarni,Onkar Khanvilkar, Sahil Kukreja, Aavishkar Salvi, Siddharth Chitnis, Sufiyan Shaikh, Harmeet Singh, Usman Malvi, Prashant Naik, Vikrant Yeligatti, Omkar Gurav, Ramesh Powar, Parag Khanapurkar, Suryakumar Yadav, Aquib Shaikh, Murtuza Hussain, Javed Khan, Sushant Marathe, Nikhil Patil (Sr.), Saurabh Netravalkar, Sujit Nayak, Kaustubh Pawar, Praful Waghela, Santosh Shinde, Aditya Tare (wk)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore - Nov 26
India Women won by 6 wickets (with 32 balls remaining)
CA XI v Indians at Adelaide
Nov 28-29, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days