IPL news

Court rejects arbitrator's ruling, Chargers stand terminated

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 18, 2012

Text size: A | A

Deccan Chargers celebrate the fall of Virender Sehwag, Deccan Chargers v Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2012, Hyderabad
The Deccan Chargers faced yet another setback © AFP

Deccan Chargers will remain terminated after the Bombay High Court on Thursday overruled the arbitrator's decision to impose a status quo on their expulsion from the IPL. The BCCI had terminated the franchise after it had failed to meet the deadline stipulated to raise the Rs 100-crore bank guarantee ($19 million). The Chargers immediately approached CK Thakkar, the court-appointed arbitrator, who put a stay on the termination order passed by the High Court. However, it was quashed on Thursday by Justice RD Dhanuka.

"The arbitrator had no jurisdiction to grant a status quo," Justice Dhanuka said. "On the same day (October 12), the high court had denied extension of time to DCHL to furnish Rs 100 crore bank guarantee as directed by the court on October 1."

In another petition filed by DCHL, the court refused an interim stay on the termination of the franchise.

"DCHL has still not furnished a bank guarantee. Hence there is no change in the circumstances to grant relief to DCHL. No case is made out for interim relief for granting stay on termination. The application seeking stay is a gross abuse of law," Justice Dhanuka said.

The only avenue left open to the Chargers now is to file an appeal in the Supreme Court, challenging the High Court's order. The franchise stands terminated, unless the arbitrator finds the grounds of termination were not valid and can prove that.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd Semi-final: TBA v West Zone at Mumbai
Dec 1, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days