Buchi Babu Invitational Tournament, final

Maharashtra take title with close win

ESPNcricinfo staff

August 30, 2011

Text size: A | A

Maharashtra Cricket Association 323 for 8 (Khurana 89, Bawne 59, Khadiwale 55, Sreejith 5-100) beat Kerala Cricket Association 319 (Jagadeesh 98, Hegde 74) by two wickets

Despite a flurry of late wickets, Maharashtra Cricket Association snuck home by two wickets against Kerala Cricket Association in Chennai, taking the 2011 Buchi Babu title.

Choosing to bat in the two-day match, Kerala scored 319, driven by steady half-centuries from their openers, Abhishek Hedge and VA Jagadeesh. The pair put on 165, before Domnic Joseph claimed Maharashtra's first breakthrough, Hedge caught on 74. Jagadeesh carried his side past the 200-run mark, before falling to the left-arm spin of Ajinkya Joshi two short of his century. The rest of the line-up failed to build on the solid start, none of them going past 46 as Kerala were bowled out in the 89th over. Left-armer Samad Fallah and legspinner Chirag Khurana were the pick of the Maharashtra bowlers, taking six wickets between them.

Maharashtra's top order were solid in reply, each of the top six getting into double figures. Their openers, Harshad Khadiwale and Khurana, put on a century stand, which was followed by four other steady stands. However, left-arm spinner Sreejith struck every time a partnership threatened to take the game away from Kerala, finishing with a five-for. With six wickets in hand and only 20 to get, Maharashtra looked set to ease to a win. But then, four wickets fell for seven runs, setting up a nail-biting finish.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Baroda v Punjab at Mumbai (BS) - Mar 27, 2012
Baroda won by 8 runs
Mumbai v Punjab at Mumbai - Mar 26, 2012
Punjab won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Baroda v Delhi at Mumbai - Mar 26, 2012
Baroda won by 7 wickets (with 17 balls remaining)
M. Pradesh v Punjab at Mumbai - Mar 25, 2012
Punjab won by 7 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
Bengal v Baroda at Mumbai - Mar 25, 2012
Baroda won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days