Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2011-12, 1st match-day October 16, 2011

Kerala pip Hyderabad in last-ball finish

ESPNcricinfo staff

Kerala pulled off a last-ball victory over Hyderabad with three wickets to spare at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on the opening day of the 2011-12 Syed Mushtaq Trophy. Hyderabad chose to bat and were in trouble straight away, losing their top three batsmen with only nine runs on the board. A 52-ball 50 from Syed Quadri provided stability before some lusty late hitting from Ashish Reddy, who made 27 from 12 balls, pushed them to 119 for 7. Raiphi Gomez was run out in the first over of Kerala's chase but captain VA Jagadeesh (49) and Robert Fernandez (25) steadied any nerves by adding 66. Kerala wobbled towards the end though, losing four wickets for 25 runs, but P Prasanth did just enough to take them over the line at the end.

Openers S Anirudha and M Vijay set-up Tamil Nadu's 84-run thrashing of Andhra Pradesh at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The pair bludgeoned their way to 96 from 10.4 overs, with Anirudha making 50 from 34 balls, a knock that included four fours and three sixes, while Vijay made 60 from 38 balls, striking five fours and three sixes. Dinesh Karthik then provided the finishing kick to the innings, slamming 42 from 24 balls to take Tamil Nadu to 172 for 7. Andhra were never in the game, slipping to 24 for 4 in the sixth over. Chandrasekar Ganapathy took 3 for 16, as Andhra were restricted to 88 for 9.

A dazzling allround display from Stuart Binny helped Karnataka overwhelm Goa by 40 runs at the TI Cycles Ground in Chennai. Binny smashed 49 from 25 balls to boost Karnataka to 170 for 8 and then picked up for 4 for 14, including three of Goa's top four batsmen, to ensure his side got off to a winning start in the competition. Manish Pandey also made 49, and along with Ganesh Satish (38), rescued the side after both openers failed to score. Goa started brightly, with their opening pair adding 33 in 3.4 overs, but KP Apanna struck to remove Swapnil Asnodkar to slow the run-rate. After Sagun Kamat and Ganpathi Vignesh had added a further 21, Binny struck in each of his next three overs to hamstring Goa's chase.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 18, 2011, 19:46 GMT

    Where is 17th n 18th oct updates... Y cric info is not giving any info on this tournment....

  • Dummy4 on October 18, 2011, 19:18 GMT

    It is very disappointing to see that Cricinfo has not updated 2 full rounds of matches in this T20 tournament. Hope cricinfo understands there are many loyal followers for these tournaments who look at Cricinfo as the first source of update. Also, here is hoping for comprehensive coverage of the Ranji Trophy.

  • Dummy4 on October 18, 2011, 13:17 GMT

    can we have yesterday's update please ??????

  • MAUSAM on October 18, 2011, 12:22 GMT

    its true....another tour records missing...dats orissa tour of australia..where they played 3 50 over ant t20 games...orissa bikash pati hits a hundred der against new south wales the same team those played in clt20 on next days...surely dat should reflect on bikash profile for his maiden list A hundred...plz updte..

  • Dummy4 on October 18, 2011, 8:44 GMT

    where is 17th oct. update?? Why isnt cricinfo updating indian domestic tournament results like they update other countries' results..

  • No featured comments at the moment.