Ranji Trophy 2012-13, Group B, Round 5, 4th day December 4, 2012

Mishra gives Haryana first win over Delhi

ESPNcricinfo staff

Haryana 307 (Dewan 71, Awana 5-71) and 209 (A Mishra 74, Narwal 5-35, V Mishra 4-64) beat Delhi 224 (Chand 83, Manhas 53) and 209 (Manhas 73, A Mishra 4-50) by 83 runs

Lahli, near Rohtak, produced a thriller again as Haryana beat neighbours Delhi for the first time in the Ranji Trophy in the closing moments of the final day. It was also Haryana's first win of the season after three successive losses on the same ground. Their captain Amit Mishra made a crucial fifty and took four wickets in the second innings but it was offspinner Jayant Yadav who ended the Delhi innings just as Haryana were about to run out of time. Haryana resumed on 167 for 6 and Mishra's 74 helped extend the innings to 209, and set Delhi a target of 293.

Delhi began at a reasonable pace of scoring but lost too many batsmen to get close. Mohit Sharma started it all, bowling Unmukt Chand second ball. Shikhar Dhawan and the other Mohit Sharma got starts but could not carry on. Mithun Manhas and Rajat Bhatia tried to steady the innings in a 68-run stand but Mishra removed Bhatia and Puneet Bisht in three deliveries. It was now a question of how long the tail would last. Mishra dealt the decisive blow when he had Manhas caught for 73, and four overs later, Yadav trapped last man Vikas Mishra in front to end the innings on 209.

Tamil Nadu 443 for 8 dec (Badrinath 192, Shankar 63*, Wagh 4-101) drew with Vidarbha 566 for 8 (Fazal 143, Wagh 83, Ruikar 67*, Paradkar 62, Das 62)

Tamil Nadu declared their first innings and ended up conceding the lead for the second time this season. It had happened against Karnataka, and it happened against Vidarbha in Nagpur today. Resuming on 214 for 2 in pursuit of Tamil Nadu's 443 for 8, Vidarbha were jolted by a double-strike from L Balaji, who bowled Hemang Badani for a duck and Faiz Fazal for 143. Vidarbha were 282 for 5 at that stage, but their captain Ranjit Paradkar and Shrikant Wagh hit fifties to earn three points. Vidarbha did not declare once the lead had been gained, and batted for 181 overs to make 566 for 8 before the game ended.

Maharashtra 315 (Bawne 51) and 333 for 5 (Khadiwale 92, Atitkar 88, Bawne 52*, Khurana 52*, Samal 4-68) drew with Odisha 441 (Samantray 107, Niranjan 103, Natraj 60)

Maharashtra put in a solid batting performance in the second innings to take a point in Sambalpur against hosts Odisha. Harshad Khadiwale, Sangram Atitkar, Ankit Bawne and Chirag Khurana hit half-centuries while Lagnajit Samal picked up all four wickets to fall today. Odisha had already assured themselves of three points with their 126-run first-innings lead and the match was called off shortly after tea. Odisha are now just one point behind group leaders Uttar Pradesh.