NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, Bengal v India A at Rajkot, Sep 29, 2012
India A won by 8 wickets (with 76 balls remaining)
29 September 2012 - day/night match (50-over match)

Mithun to Goswami, OUT, walks in the shot. Oh. Big misunderstanding! Goswami played it towards the off side and immediately set off. Basu took a few steps, but then turned his back, while Goswami ran all the way through to the non-strikers end. The throw was lobbed to the keeper, who took the bails off with a smile on his face

SP Goswami run out 11 (37m 22b 0x4 0x6) SR: 50.00

Bengal 32/1   JJ Basu 13* (24b 2x4)   A Mithun 3.4-0-10-0

Ojha to Sandipan Das, OUT, that was an unnecessary attempt to hoick the ball towards the leg side. Ojha held the length back and the ball took the bottom-edge to the wicketkeeper. The batsmen were scoring with ease here, so there was no need there for a risky shot. The field was open, with lots of opportunities for singles everywhere.

Sandipan Das c †Karthik b Ojha 5 (26m 11b 0x4 0x6) SR: 45.45

Bengal 63/2   JJ Basu 39* (43b 7x4)   PP Ojha 1.4-0-7-1

Ojha to Basu, OUT, great one-handed catch at first-slip by Ishant Sharma! flighted delivery, and Basu closed the face of the bat in an attempt to play it towards the open spaces on the leg side. The ball took the outside edge and flew to the right of Ishant where he plucked a good one-handed catch. What is Ishant doing at slip? We have got the answer

JJ Basu c Sharma b Ojha 42 (82m 52b 7x4 0x6) SR: 80.76

Bengal 71/3   WP Saha 4* (15b)   PP Ojha 3.4-0-13-2

Sharma to SG Das, OUT, short and rising delivery, Das gets into a tangle, trying to steer it to third man, and the ball went through past the edge to the keeper. There was no real appeal from anybody, but the umpire raised his finger. Not very clear if there was an edge there, slightly unlucky for Das

SG Das c †Karthik b Sharma 9 (22m 22b 1x4 0x6) SR: 40.90

Bengal 88/4   WP Saha 12* (25b)   I Sharma 6-0-21-1

Pathan to Shukla, OUT, flighted ball, slog sweeps it hard wide of long-on but not wide enough. The fielder on the boundary moves a few paces towards the right and stretches to take it inches inside the ropes. Awana took a well-judged catch there

LR Shukla c Awana b Pathan 0 (2m 3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00

Bengal 89/5   WP Saha 13* (26b)   YK Pathan 0.4-0-1-1

Sharma to DB Das, OUT, short, outside off and instead of going towards off side, Das plays the tennis forehand again. He loses control and the ball takes the top-edge and swirls down to the right of mid-on where Rahane takes an easy catch. List A wicket no. 101 for Ishant

DB Das c Rahane b Sharma 1 (6m 4b 0x4 0x6) SR: 25.00

Bengal 92/6   WP Saha 15* (29b)   I Sharma 6.5-0-22-2

Sharma to Saha, OUT, slower ball, and Saha drives it in the air towards extra cover, where Badrinath comes behind the ball, and catches it on the second attempt after the ball lobs out of his hands on the first. Immediate success for Ishant, his third wicket of the innings.

WP Saha c Badrinath b Sharma 65 (107m 72b 5x4 1x6) SR: 90.27

Bengal 176/7   AA Nandi 31* (37b 3x4 1x6)   I Sharma 7.1-0-22-3

Sharma to Sarkar, OUT, edged, he left three balls in a row, but didn't want to give a maiden to Ishant. A nothing shot, as he tried to drive a good length ball outside off without getting anywhere close to it.

SS Sarkar c †Karthik b Sharma 0 (3m 5b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00

Bengal 176/8   AA Nandi 31* (37b 3x4 1x6)   I Sharma 8-1-22-4

Mithun to Pratap Singh, OUT, another edge, and another catch for Karthik behind the stumps. Drives at a length ball and plays away from the body, similar dismissal to Sarkar's in the last over.

V Pratap Singh c †Karthik b Mithun 1 (4m 2b 0x4 0x6) SR: 50.00

Bengal 181/9   AA Nandi 35* (40b 3x4 1x6)   A Mithun 8.5-0-42-1

Ojha to Nandi, OUT, that is the end, Nandi, made some room and wanted to maul this over the infield on the off side, but he loses his bat as he gets a leading edge which lobs straight to point

AA Nandi c Badrinath b Ojha 43 (76m 45b 3x4 2x6) SR: 95.55

Bengal 193/10   I Saxena 4* (9b 1x4)   PP Ojha 9.1-0-40-3





  • RHB


  • RHB



Hours of play (local time) 14.30 start, Lunch 18.00-18.45, Close 22:15

Match Coverage