Blizzard of Oz, and a Malinga special
Onslaught of the day
Mumbai Indians have been the most impressive team of the tournament, but the one department where they were laggards was in the Powerplay, generally making slow progress in that phase. Not today, though, as Aiden Blizzard waded into the bowling of the usually economical Morne Morkel. Blizzard caused the most damage in the third over of the match as he pinged the boundary in five different regions: he began with a flat-batted straight hit, followed it up with a slap to backward square leg, muscled the ball over cover, thrashed it over point and finished with a glance to fine leg. Mumbai had galloped to 35 for 0 in three overs.
Incutter of the day
With Blizzard blazing away, Sachin Tendulkar was seemingly easing his way towards another solid IPL innings. He had moved to 14 with the help of three classical boundaries when Irfan Pathan struck. Irfan had been getting the new ball to jag around, and he had a wicket to savour in his third over. He got one ball to duck sharply in towards Tendulkar, who was looking to swipe the ball, but it sneaked under the bat and crashed into the stumps.
Bizarre dismissal of the day
Ambati Rayudu continued to press his case for a chance in the national team with another half-century. He looked to complete a hat-trick of boundaries by driving over extra cover, but his back foot slipped and brushed the stumps, and his drive was miscued to Virender Sehwag. He was initially given out hit-wicket but an hour later he was ruled to be out caught, since according to Law 32, the catch takes precedence over all other types of dismissals, except bowled. Everyday you learn something new.
Welcome of the day
Colin Ingram was getting his first game of the tournament, after cooling his heels for a month. He didn't get to savour his time in the middle, though, as Lasith Malinga welcomed him with one of his trademark inswinging yorkers. Ingram couldn't get his bat down in time, the ball crashed into the base of middle and leg stump and Ingram trudged off having made just one from two balls.
Delayed decision of the day
Naman Ojha looked to play an expansive drive in the third over of the chase, and there was a loud sound and a deviation as the ball passed the bat on its way to the keeper. Mumbai were convinced Ojha was caught-behind and started celebrating after a perfunctory appeal. It was only later that the bowler Munaf Patel turned round to see the umpire was unmoved, and the wicketkeeper Rayudu was a picture of incredulity. Mumbai couldn't believe they hadn't got the decision; umpire K Hariharan then decided to consult square-leg umpire Simon Taufel, and after a brief discussion, ruled Ojha out. It turned out that the umpire hadn't been able to see the keeper take the catch since the bowler had blocked his view. All's well that ends well.
Siddarth Ravindran is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo