IPL 2012 stats analysis May 21, 2012

Gayle, Narine, and more IPL stats

Stats highlights from the round-robin stage of IPL 2012

One-man army
Chris Gayle ended up as the leading run-scorer in the round-robin stages of the IPL by a long way - his tally of 733 was 164 runs more than that of Shikhar Dhawan, who was second with 569. In all, Gayle scored 31% of his team's total bat runs during the tournament - Royal Challengers Bangalore scored the second-highest number of runs in their league games, with 2351. Gayle's stats in wins was especially awesome: his scores in the seven matches that Royal Challengers won were 81, 87, 4, 26, 82*, 57 and 128* - 465 runs at an average of 93, and a strike rate of 162.58. In defeats, he scored 268 runs in seven innings at an average of 38.28 and a strike rate of 157.64, which are pretty exceptional numbers by themselves. Gayle has also struck 59 of his team's 117 sixes, which is marginally more than 50%. Thanks largely to Gayle, Royal Challengers also struck 30 sixes more than next-best side - Delhi Daredevils are second on the sixes list with 87.

Apart from Royal Challengers, the others teams that relied on one player on a large chunk of their runs were Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers. Gautam Gambir contributed more than 27% of Knight Riders' runs, with Jacques Kallis, the second-highest run-getter for them, managing only 15%. Shikhar Dhawan's percentage contribution for Chargers was 25.84%, but Cameron White contributed mightily for them too, scoring 479 runs, almost 22% of their team's runs. The team with the most runs in the round-robin stages was Rajasthan Royals: they scored 2393, with Ajinkya Rahane, their top run-getter, contributing 560 of those - a percentage of 23.40.

On the other hand, there were four teams in which the leading scorer contributed less than 20% of the team's bat runs. At the bottom of the list is Pune Warriors - Robin Uthappa had a below-par tournament, but he was still their leading run-scorer, contributing 18.55% of their runs. Steven Smith had better numbers (average 40.22, strike rate 135.58), but didn't have as many opportunities to score as he was batting down the order.

Percent of runs contributed by the highest scorer for each team
Team Top scorer Runs Ave Strike-rate Team runs* Percent
Royal Challengers Bangalore Chris Gayle 733 61.08 160.74 2351 31.18
Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir 556 39.71 142.19 2014 27.61
Deccan Chargers Shikhar Dhawan 569 40.64 129.61 2202 25.84
Rajasthan Royals Ajinkya Rahane 560 40.00 129.33 2393 23.40
Delhi Daredevils Virender Sehwag 484 37.23 164.62 2247 21.54
Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma 419 32.23 129.72 2195 19.09
Kings XI Punjab Mandeep Singh 432 27.00 126.31 2286 18.90
Chennai Super Kings Faf du Plessis 398 33.16 130.92 2135 18.64
Pune Warriors Robin Uthappa 405 27.00 118.07 2183 18.55
* Bat runs only

The slog-over bowlers
Only nine bowlers have bowled more than 90 balls in the last five overs in IPL 2012. Two of them have been exceptional: Lasith Malinga has continued his form from previous seasons, with 17 wickets at an average of 9.05 and an economy rate of less than seven, but one bowler has even better numbers: Sunil Narine has confounded all batsmen with his different types of spins, and has been especially successful in the last few overs, when batsmen have tried to score off him and struggled. Narine has taken 16 wickets in the last five, at an incredible average of 8.81 and economy rate of 6.36. The other bowler who has stood out is Delhi Daredevils' Morne Morkel, who has 12 wickets at an economy rate of less than 7.50. Thus, three of the four teams in the playoffs have outstanding bowlers who've had plenty of success in the slog overs; the only exception is Chennai Super Kings, for whom Dwayne Bravo has done a lot of bowling at the death but without a lot of success.

At the bottom of that table is Vinay Kumar of Royal Challengers Bangalore. The team has reposed plenty of faith in him during the slog overs, but Vinay hasn't exactly repaid that faith, going at almost 11 runs per over.

Bowlers who bowled more than 90 balls in the last five overs
Bowlers Balls Runs Dismissals Average Econ rate
Sunil Narine 133 141 16 8.81 6.36
Lasith Malinga 135 154 17 9.05 6.84
Morne Morkel 132 162 12 13.50 7.36
Zaheer Khan 138 193 9 21.44 8.39
Dale Steyn 94 133 7 19.00 8.48
Umesh Yadav 114 167 7 23.85 8.78
Dwayne Bravo 102 154 5 30.80 9.05
Azhar Mahmood 100 157 7 22.42 9.42
Vinay Kumar 137 245 11 22.27 10.72

The pace-spin equation
As in most seasons, this year too spinners were slightly more economical than the fast bowlers, but conceded more runs per wicket. In the Powerplay overs, pace accounted for far more wickets than spin: spinners bowled about 30% of the overs, but took less than 18% of the wickets. There were a few spinners who were economical during the Powerplay, but not among the wickets: Narine conceded only 66 runs in 14 overs, but managed two wickets; R Ashwin bowled 23 overs during the Powerplays, easily the most by any spinner, and took three wickets for 147 (economy rate 6.39). Among the fast bowlers, Steyn was outstanding in the Powerplays, taking eight wickets for 125 runs in 24 overs (economy rate 5.20). The highest wicket-taker in the Powerplays was Morne Morkel - he took 11 for 199 in 31 overs.

Spinners bowled much more in the middle overs, with mixed success. Muttiah Muralitharan was outstanding, taking 11 for 159 in 30 overs, while Narine had 4 for 56 in 15. The two legspinners, Piyush Chawla and Amit Mishra had similar figures: Chawla took 10 for 328 in 45 overs, while Mishra took 12 for 311 in 40. Harbhajan Singh's stats were more disappointing, largely because he struggled for wickets: in 41 overs, he took 5 for 296 - an average of 59.20 and economy rate of 7.21.

Pace and spin in IPl 2012
  First 6 - wkts Ave/ ER 6.1-15 - ave Ave/ ER 15.1-20 - wkts Ave/ ER Overall-wkt Ave/ ER
Pace 141 32.29/ 7.08 142 32.37/ 7.26 220 20.19/ 9.32 503 27.02/ 7.75
Spin 30 44.43/ 6.76 131 33.55/ 7.10 64 20.56/ 9.17 225 31.31/ 7.34

More stats

  • Mumbai Indians were the only team to take more than 100 wickets in the round-robin matches - they took 101, followed by Knight Riders with 96. Pune Warriors (79) and Chargers (83) were the teams which took the least wickets.

  • Chargers conceded more sixes (96) than any other side, followed by Royal Challengers (89). Knight Riders, on the other hand, conceded only 59, with Super Kings conceding 64.

  • Daredevils effected more run-outs than any other side - 14 batsmen were dismissed in this manner against them; only four batsmen were run-out against Royals, and five against Chargers.

  • There were 25 maiden overs bowled in the league stages of the IPL. Daredevils bowled the maximum maidens - five - followed by Mumbai Indians with four. Royal Challengers bowled the least maidens - only one.

  • Of the 70 matches which ended decisively, 31 were won by the team batting first, and 39 by the team chasing; 32 were won by the team which won the toss, and 38 by the team which lost the toss.

  • Knight Riders relied on spin more than any other side - spinners have taken 38 wickets for them, at an average of 17.71 and an economy rate of 6.00. Daredevils have the fewest spin wickets - 16, at an average of 38.37 and an economy rate of 7.30. Mumbai Indians have the most fast-bowler wickets - 73 wickets, at 22.39; for Super Kings, fast bowlers have contributed only 45 wickets.

S Rajesh is stats editor of ESPNcricinfo. Follow him on Twitter