Rajasthan Royals v Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2013, Jaipur April 14, 2013

Dravid's relief, and Sreesanth's appeal

Plays from the IPL game between Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab in Jaipur

The appeal
Sreesanth was on fire with accurate swing and seam, but his appeals weren't quite on the mark. In the 10th over, he hit R Sathish on the pad with a ball headed down leg. For good measure, Sathish was well down the wicket too. Sreesanth yelped out an appeal so outlandish he had to virtually look at extra cover because the umpire had immediately taken his position there to adjudicate should there be a run-out appeal.

The reaction
You could look at Rahul Dravid's face in Test cricket, and tell if he had been in a tough fight. Tonight, you could tell he was mighty relieved. In the 13th over of the innings, David Hussey - the only Kings XI Punjab batsman who looked comfortable - hit a slower ball straight down his throat at Dravid, who grabbed at it. The ball lobbed out, and Dravid's face had already started showing signs of disappointment when he went for the rebound. As he held on to the rebound, the mouth formed a circle, and a big sigh was heaved. He looked skywards and sighed again, and managed to squeeze in a broad smile.

The swing
Praveen Kumar is better known for his swing both ways with the ball, but he can also be a clean hitter. Today he did so when all others seemed to fail to pick the Kevon Cooper slower ball. Praveen had walked in at the fall of Azhar Mahmood to one of those slower ones, and picked the slower one bowled to him early. It was the first legal ball he faced, and as if playing golf he sent it sailing over long-off.

The replay
If you are a Bangalore boy, you can do far worse than emulating Dravid. Stuart Binny followed Dravid with an identical dismissal. Praveen had been given a fourth over at the top of the innings in a desperate Kings XI attempt to make a match out of this, and Dravid couldn't play it out. He followed one short of driving length and slightly away from his body, and edged it to the right of Adam Gilchrist.

Four balls later, Binny did the same, and Gilchrist dived to his right again to take it. "A flying Gilly, not a bad catch for a youngster @ipl," tweeted Brett Lee.

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

Comments