Delhi Daredevils v Mumbai Indians, IPL 2013, Delhi April 21, 2013

The deserved run-out, and a Test-match field

The plays of the day from the IPL match between Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians in Delhi

The field
The Feroz Shah Kotla is known for its lack of bounce, but it seemed to have gone a step too far when the match began without a single slip in place, possibly for the first time this IPL. The first over from Irfan Pathan done with, Shahbaz Nadeem bowled the second with a slip. The coloured clothing aside, you could be forgiven for thinking this was a Test being played in India, circa 2013.

The run-out
Before this match, Dinesh Karthik hadn't scored fewer than 30 in this edition of the IPL. He failed to get into the double figures today, thanks to what is widely considered an unfortunate way to get out. Sachin Tendulkar drove straight, Umesh Yadav got a hand to it in his follow-through, deflected the ball on to the stumps, and Karthik was caught short having backed up too far. If you steal that backing-up advantage, you are liable to be run out too.

The welcome
There has been a clamour, without reason, for Roelof van der Merwe to be played in the Delhi Daredevils XI, but the management has been teasing the clamourers with either of Johan Botha, Ben Rohrer or Jeevan Mendis ahead of van der Merwe. When he finally got his chance, van der Merwe was lofted over mid-off first ball for four.

The catch
Van der Merwe made an immediate comeback, though. He refused to dart one in, and Dwayne Smith was lured into attempting another hit over mid-off. This ball was a little slower, and he didn't get enough elevation. Enough to clear most fielders, that is, but not Umesh Yadav. He leapt full length in the air but didn't go for the catch, deliberately parrying it up instead. He landed upright on his feet, and completed the catch.

The drops
Shahbaz Nadeem has been one of Delhi Daredevils' best fielders this season, but in this match he led the way in what was a mostly shoddy effort. There were overthrows, there were misfields, but most of all there were dropped chances from Nadeem. First he dropped a return sitter from Sachin Tendulkar, who added 17 off 17 after the reprieve. The more costly drop was that of Kieron Pollard, off the first ball of the last over, when Nadeem's eyes somehow stopped following the ball as it approached his hands at sweeper-cover. Pollard went on to hit a six off the last ball to take the target past 160.

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Naresh on April 22, 2013, 6:27 GMT

    Typical Shewag just when we all thought he was finished he produces a gem of an innings. If any batsman is injured for the Champions trophy in England then Shewags name should be the first replacement.Loved watching this game - some delightful strokes on display by both sides. Both games yesterday were exciting.

  • Ashok on April 21, 2013, 21:36 GMT

    The best play of the day was DD's FIRST victory after 8 losses in a row! What caused the great form of Sehwag & Jayawardene? Was it their own Discipline & Responsibility or was it Viv Richard effect? Sehwag was restored to his old brilliance magically!

  • Dummy4 on April 21, 2013, 20:50 GMT

    mr vaida.....thts so funny..... so u sayin a batsman backing up too much is a fair thing....forget abt intentional or unintentional, thts wat a batsmen get if he intends to do that.....

  • Dummy4 on April 21, 2013, 19:13 GMT

    I feel that the ICC should change the rule, to avoid such unfortunate Run Outs. The run out dismissal should be intentional on the part of the bowler / fielder. Accidental and unintentional defections should not be considered as out. I hope that some wise men will look in to this aspect to do the needful at the earliest.

    Let me explain an example. "Hitting the ball twice" is a way of being dismissed. However, if a batsman plays a solid defence and the ball bounces back to hit the bat, it will not result in the batsman's dismissal. The reason is simple. It was NOT "intentional" on the part of the batsman to hit the ball twice. Same logic should be applied to accidental deflections too.

  • Dummy4 on April 21, 2013, 16:28 GMT

    I think the wide that wasnt given off Agarkars bowling to Rohit Sharma in the 18th over, should also have been one of the plays of the day.

  • No featured comments at the moment.