Sunrisers Hyderabad v Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2013, Hyderabad

Sammy's appeal, Perera breaks the stumps

The Plays of the day from the match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Daredevils, in Hyderabad

Siddarth Ravindran

May 4, 2013

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

Hanuma Vihari drops a skier to give David Warner a life, Sunrisers Hyderabad v Delhi Daredevils, IPL, Hyderabad, May 4, 2013
Hanuma Vihari's drop wasn't costly © BCCI

The appeal

In the second over of the match, Ishant Sharma bowled one of his typical deliveries - a short of length ball cutting in - that beat Virender Sehwag's inside edge and struck him on the pads. As is the norm, the bowler and the wicketkeeper went up vociferously asking for the lbw. The ball would have missed legstump and the umpire rightly turned down the shout. The most dramatic appeal, though, came from Darren Sammy, who was fielding at a very wide first slip and would have had no idea of the line of the delivery. That didn't deter Sammy from appealing so vehemently that he sank to his knees while asking the question.

The no-ball

It is only this month that the rules have been changed to make it a no-ball when the bowler brushes the stumps during his run-up, a problem most prominently faced by England's Steven Finn. Bangladesh fast bowler Shafiul Islam became the first bowler to be no-balled for that in international cricket yesterday, and today it was Thisara Perera in the IPL. There is no free-hit for this sort of no-ball, but perhaps the batsman Unmukt Chand was unaware of that, judging from his wild swipe after charging out of his crease on the next delivery.

The drop

The IPL's highlights reels may be stacked with a bunch of terrific catches, but this season has had its share of schoolboyish fielding bloopers. Hanuma Vihari added to that list today, when he didn't just put down a skier from David Warner, he barely got a hand on it despite settling under it well in time. Luckily for him, Warner's continued struggles against spin meant the drop didn't prove too costly.

The confusion

Daredevils, like most IPL franchises, have a vast support staff, one of whom should be assigned to give lessons in calling for Irfan Pathan and Shahbaz Nadeem. First, there was a total communication breakdown when they were batting, resulting in Nadeem's run-out. Initially the striker Nadeem wanted the run and Irfan didn't, then Irfan did and Nadeem didn't and in the resulting confusion Sunrisers Hyderabad had time to complete the run-out even though the first throw missed the stumps. Then, in the second over of the chase, a top-edged shot looped towards deep square leg. Irfan ran back from square leg, and Nadeem from deep midwicket; both of them were converging on the ball but at the last moment both pulled out of attempting the catch and watched the ball land between them.

Siddarth Ravindran is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Siddarth Ravindran

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by NUNA_1980 on (May 5, 2013, 8:12 GMT)

Unfortunately all the big matches are scheduled in away for SRH, other wise they will be the hot favorite for me. They have habit of winning law scoring game.

Posted by hkreddy on (May 5, 2013, 5:02 GMT)

It seems either CSK or SRH will become IPL 2013 champions. However CSK are clear favourites with heavy batting lineup.

Posted by   on (May 5, 2013, 4:11 GMT)

With such a wonderful "feat" + the credential of "an all-rounder" IRFAN has made a cut to the Champions Trophy in England !!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Siddarth RavindranClose
Tournament Results
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Kolkata - May 26, 2013
Mum Indians won by 23 runs
Mum Indians v Royals at Kolkata - May 24, 2013
Mum Indians won by 4 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)
Royals v Sunrisers at Delhi - May 22, 2013
Royals won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Delhi - May 21, 2013
Super Kings won by 48 runs
Sunrisers v KKR at Hyderabad (Deccan) - May 19, 2013
Sunrisers won by 5 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
Warriors v Daredevils at Pune - May 19, 2013
Warriors won by 38 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days