IPL 2014

No skipping Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, says BCCI

Amol Karhadkar

March 20, 2014

Comments: 5 | Text size: A | A

Rishi Dhawan held on to a good catch to dismiss Mitchell Marsh, Mumbai Indians v Pune Warriors, IPL 2013, Mumbai, April 13, 2013
Rishi Dhawan will have to turn out for Himachal in early April, instead of joining Kings XI Punjab © BCCI

The BCCI has made it mandatory for all domestic IPL players to appear for their domestic teams in the zonal leagues of the domestic Twenty20 championship rather than joining their franchises for IPL preparations. A circular explaining the decision has been issued to all 27 affiliates of the BCCI.

The five zones will stage their respective Twenty20 league from March 30 to April 5. However, with the IPL set to start in the UAE from April 16, most of the franchises were hoping to get the players assembled for preparatory camps. While the West Zone league will be played in Mumbai from March 30, Central Zone teams will compete in Nagpur from March 31. North, South and East Zone leagues will start in Chandigarh, Vijayawada and Kolkata, respectively from April 1.

"We have informed the affiliates that no player can skip the zonal T20s and join a franchise for IPL preparations instead," Ratnakar Shetty, BCCI's general manager - game development, said.

While the move will bolster the state teams and avoid the IPL overshadowing the domestic T20 league, it will be a setback for the franchises. Following the full auction, most teams will enter the IPL with totally revamped squads. The IPL team coaches were hoping to spend more with the new players ahead of the tournament. "Ideally, we would like players joining us three weeks before the season starts," an IPL team's support staff member said. "But it would be good in a way that the players will be playing competitive games."

The state teams who will make it for the Super League for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, to be played in Mumbai and Rajkot from April 8, will have to do without their IPL players. The top two teams from each zone qualify for the Super League. "Most teams would leave for UAE around a week before the IPL starts, so we can't make it compulsory for the players to play the Super League," Shetty said.

Amol Karhadkar is a correspondent at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Amol Karhadkar

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by RajeshNaik on (March 22, 2014, 5:42 GMT)

It does not make sense asking players not to miss zonal matches and then allowing them to miss knockouts if their team qualifies! It would have been sensible if BCCI had either advanced the schedule of T20 Domestic tournament or started IPL a week later. Strong teams which may manage to enter the knock outs of T20 tournament, will be without their main players in knock outs and will be difficult for them to do well. If a state team is not able to field its strong team in the knockouts then why allow that to happen in zonals in the first place? Teh players should be asked to play the full tournament OR not at all.

Posted by   on (March 21, 2014, 11:43 GMT)

Goo decision...IPL should not intrude on domestic tournaments...however the domestic players might not give 100% to remain fit.

Posted by   on (March 21, 2014, 1:26 GMT)

good decision by Bcci.,

Posted by hitesh18805 on (March 20, 2014, 22:42 GMT)

Since IPL is a "domestic" T20 tournament, they should do away with yet another domestic T20 tournament. India is the only country with two domestic T20 tournaments. When will BCCI get it right about giving first class games (therefore Tests) a priority?

Posted by Aashiyer on (March 20, 2014, 19:47 GMT)

Why is BCCI making it mandatory? This means that some star players have to go to their country instead of the league!!!!!!!!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Amol KarhadkarClose
Tournament Results
KKR v Kings XI at Bangalore - Jun 1, 2014
KKR won by 3 wickets
Super Kings v Kings XI at Mumbai - May 30, 2014
Kings XI won by 24 runs
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Mumbai (BS) - May 28, 2014
Super Kings won by 7 wickets
Kings XI v KKR at Kolkata - May 27-28, 2014
KKR won by 28 runs
Mum Indians v Royals at Mumbai - May 25, 2014
Mum Indians won by 5 wickets
Kings XI v Daredevils at Mohali - May 25, 2014
Kings XI won by 7 wickets
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days