IPL - Key numbers April 15, 2014

Ojha stifles Dhoni and another Kohli century

Fifteen numbers from the IPL

105 - The most runs scored by a batsman off a bowler in the tournament - Virat Kohli holds the record against Umesh Yadav, scoring 105 off 53 balls, and being dismissed once. Adam Gilchrist is the only other batsman to hit three-figures or more against a bowler - he has taken exactly 100 off Ashish Nehra, also off 53 balls.

40 - The number of dot balls Pragyan Ojha has bowled to MS Dhoni, the most by any bowler against a batsman in the competition. Ojha has dismissed Dhoni six times - also a record in the tournament - in 96 balls, conceding 98 runs. The next in the dot-ball list is Praveen Kumar against Sachin Tendulkar (34 dots).

3 - The least runs defended successfully in the 20th over by any team in the competition's history, by Rajasthan against Mumbai in 2009. Mumbai needed four to win in the last over - which was bowled by Munaf Patel - with three wickets in hand, but managed only one run and lost all three remaining wickets.

21 - The most runs that teams have failed to defend in the last over. It has happened three times, with Kolkata being on the receiving end twice: against Deccan in 2009 (Mashrafe Mortaza was the bowler) and Mumbai in 2011 (L Balaji being the bowler). The third instance was by Bangalore versus Pune in 2012, when Ashish Nehra was taken to the cleaners by AB de Villiers and Saurabh Tiwary.

10 - The number of players - who have played at least one match for their respective teams* - retained this year by Rajasthan from their 2013 squad, the highest by any team. The next-highest is nine; by Mumbai.

1105 - Runs scored in the league by Ravindra Jadeja, which is the highest by any batsman who hasn't scored a half-century yet. The next in line is Abhishek Nayar, with 629. Overall in all T20s, Jadeja has 1281 runs without scoring a fifty. Yasir Arafat is the only other player to score 1000-plus T20 runs without a fifty.

55 - Balls taken for the slowest fifty in the tournament, by JP Duminy, for Mumbai against Punjab in 2009. The next-slowest is Parthiv Patel's 53-ball 50 for Chennai, also against Punjab, in 2010.

85 - Ojha's wicket tally so far, the highest by a bowler who doesn't have a single haul of four or more wickets in the tournament. Dale Steyn is the next bowler in the list, with 78 wickets.

1181 - Runs scored by Dhoni in the last five overs, the most by any batsman. He has scored them off 648 balls, a run rate of 10.93 per over. The next-best is Rohit Sharma with 886 off 483 balls, a rate of 11, while AB de Villiers has 671 off 318 (12.66).

91 - Sixes that have been hit off Piyush Chawla's bowling, the most off a single bowler. Amit Mishra has gone for 86 sixes, followed by Praveen Kumar with 74.

37 - Runs scored by Bangalore in the third over of their match against Kochi, the most runs scored in a single over. P Parameswaran was the bowler, and Chris Gayle the batsman. The sequence read: 6, 6(nb), 4, 4, 6, 6, 4.

87 - Runs scored by Kochi in the Powerplay overs against Rajasthan in 2011, the highest by a team in the first six overs of a match. The next-highest is 84 by Deccan against Delhi in 2009.

87 - Runs scored by Chennai in the last five overs against Hyderabad in 2013, the highest by any team in the last five. The next-best is 86, by Kolkata against Deccan in 2008.

5 - The number of wicket-maiden overs bowled by Dale Steyn and Praveen Kumar, the most by any bowler in the competition. Two of Praveen's instances were double-wicket maidens.

2 - The number of maidens bowled in the 20th over of an innings - by Lasith Malinga against Deccan in 2009, and by Irfan Pathan against Mumbai in 2008. On both occasions the bowler bowling the maiden conceded 19 runs in his four overs.

* This line wasn't published with the original copy of the piece and has been added later and the number has been corrected

S Rajesh is stats editor of ESPNcricinfo. @rajeshstats

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • sushil on April 16, 2014, 6:12 GMT

    @rajeshstats Mumbai hv retained 9 players who hd played at least one match for them in last season- rohit,harbhajan,rayudu,pollard,malinga,ojha,tare,bumrah & suyal. They also retained two players -jalaj saxena & sushant marathe who didn't played in any matches in last season but were part of their squad. So they have retained most no. Of players from the last season-11 total. Plz check this out...

  • syed on April 16, 2014, 6:07 GMT

    Munaf Patel was not good in the last IPL, therefore, i think no one picked him and Praveen Kumar is recovering from Injury and nobody wants to take the risk.

  • Saif on April 16, 2014, 4:29 GMT

    Suprisingly both Praveen and Munaf were not picked by any franchisee. Munaf has been in great form too in the S Mushtaq Ali trophy

  • Dummy4 on April 16, 2014, 4:01 GMT

    Ojha is so underrated. He should be given chances in international cricket. He is better than Ashwin and Jadeja.

  • Dummy4 on April 16, 2014, 0:26 GMT

    Feels so much hunger from the uncapped players & bench sitters.The stage is set for them with a mindset "Nothing to lose".Giving some pain to the Biggies would be the best way to rise !

  • Dummy4 on April 15, 2014, 19:25 GMT

    why Praveen Kumar is not playing this IPL.? I am totally amazed that no any team pick him,ahh.

  • No featured comments at the moment.