Daredevils v Royals, IPL 2014, Delhi May 3, 2014

KP's reprieve

Plays of the day from Delhi Daredevils' home match against Rajasthan Royals

What's that third-eye for? Shane Watson protested the umpire's decision © BCCI

The decision

The umpires in the IPL have been kitted with a portable camera strapped on to their hats, a kind of a third eye. But in the seventh over of Delhi Daredevils' innings, all eyes were on Sanjay Hazare, the square-leg umpire, for his non-use of technology. Kevin Pietersen was on 2 when he wandered out of the crease after being hit on the pads, not realising the ball had not gone too far to the leg side. By the time he turned back, Sanju Samson, the wicketkeeper, had fired a direct hit. It all looked close to the naked eye but Hazare chose not to check with the TV umpire. As it turned out, Pietersen was a few inches short. Shane Watson and Rajat Bhatia protested the decision briefly, but to no avail. Embarrassed by the TV replays, Hazare could just afford a sheepish smile.

The shot

Quinton de Kock has shown a preference for leg-side play during this IPL and it reflected in three shots he played during his attractive innings, all of them to deliveries outside off. He bent his knees to drag a full ball outside off to the fine-leg boundary in the third over to bring his 2000th T20 run and played a similar shot later in his innings to Rajat Bhatia, off a low full-toss. The best of the lot, however, was an effortless flick shot off Watson, again, from outside off that sailed all the way over deep backward square leg.

The short run

Pravin Tambe's double-strike had forced Daredevils into a rebuilding mode. That didn't mean that the runs entirely stopped coming though; with two quick men - Dinesh Karthik and JP Duminy - runs kept on coming in ones and twos. Karthik showed urgency in one such attempt for a double after Duminy had driven the ball to wide long-on. He was fast on his feet and quick to judge the second and his pace even forced the fielder to fumble the ball. However, he only had to blame himself as the umpire signalled a short run, as Karthik had been well short of the crease on the turn.

The celebration

One look at M Vijay's celebration after taking Ajinkya Rahane's catch and you immediately knew he had spent a lot of time perfecting that little jig with his former Chennai Super Kings teammate Dwayne Bravo. He turned towards the crowd and showed off his dance moves. The catch - a full-length dive low to his left - was well worthy of it too.

Devashish Fuloria is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Saddha on May 4, 2014, 20:25 GMT

    @MWaqqar, Not too soon i would presume, at least at this rate!!

  • AshwinMS on May 4, 2014, 14:55 GMT

    @FACEBOOK USER No that isn't the case.In that case he's supposed to call a no ball.

  • dummy4fb on May 4, 2014, 14:39 GMT

    Actually,there's a rule that restricts the wicket keepers movement behind the stumps.Samson moved from his position before the ball was played by KP.Maybe that's why it was given not out.

  • jmcilhinney on May 4, 2014, 4:23 GMT

    We can say that the on-field umpire should always consult the third umpire on line decisions unless he is certain but then the umpire here probably thought that he was certain. There should just be a blanket policy that, unless the batsman walks, the decision is made by the third umpire. That way, situations like this will never arise. There will be those who say that that would spoil the flow of the game but I'd say that a batsman like KP getting a let-off spoils the flow much more.

  • MWaqqar on May 3, 2014, 18:39 GMT

    When will we see an Indian umpire in ICC Elite Panel.

  • No featured comments at the moment.