Sri Lanka news May 22, 2014

SLC confirms Super Fours tournament

Sri Lanka's premier Twenty20 tournament will be played over six days, between June 27 and July 2 at the Sinhalese Sports Club, the SLC has announced. The Super Fours tournament will follow a similar format to last year's event, with four sides representing provinces contesting passage to the Champions League T20 in September. The Super Fours takes the place of the Sri Lanka Premier League, which was cancelled for the third time in four years.

The tournament will take place during the window between Sri Lanka's tour to England, and the home series against South Africa, and as such, national players are expected to be available for the event.

"The T20 World Champion team players will participate, while giving an opportunity for the up and coming cricketers to play and interact with them," tournament director Ajit Jayasekara said.

Meanwhile, the SLC also announced that Sri Lanka's premier U-23 three-day tournament will feature four Australians, spread across major Colombo clubs. Slow-bowling allrounder Ashton Agar, who last year debuted for Australia in the Ashes and is himself half-Sri Lankan, will play for Tamil Union. James Muirhead, William Bosisto and Matthew Short are set to represent Moors Sports Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club and Colombo Cricket Club respectively. The tournament is set to begin on June 6.

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on May 23, 2014, 7:27 GMT

    it should be a matter of time y SLC trying to give few day time but as for our cricket it should need at least 2 rounds and needd to put good players

  • udendra on May 23, 2014, 5:44 GMT

    At least create the teams in a way that if selected, they could put-up a decent performance in CLT20.

  • chandima on May 22, 2014, 15:52 GMT

    It's again initiated with a few days tournament. Last time alsi there was a single league round and semis. The reult was the winners even couldnt beat a newzealnd team in subcontinent wicket and a least experienced pakistan team even could beat these super four winners easily. Please hold at least two rounds before. emis.

    And also the biasness of these four teams should be eliminated. Because senior players like sanga mahela dili ( if they are participating) should be equally representing four teams with malinga. Clearly the captains of teams should be chandimal, mathews, thirimanna and malinga. The teams should be selected in a fair basis. T20 specialists like thisara, dilhara lokuhettige, milinda siriwardana, seekuge prasanna should be representing four different teams. But what happened in the last time was chandimal had a very good team. SLC might have expected them to win. But a team which SLC didnt expect won and they struggled in the champions league. Due to the poor management

  • No featured comments at the moment.