15-man squad announced for Ranji Trophy Super League October 29, 2007

MSK Prasad to lead Andhra

Cricinfo staff

Bodipati Sumanth will be looking to make the most of his second season in Ranji Trophy cricket © Martin Williamson
MSK Prasad, the former India wicketkeeper, will lead a 15-member Andhra Ranji squad to take part in the Ranji Trophy Super League.

Prasad was made captain after former captain Venugopala Rao shifted allegiance to Maharashtra. The team will also be without the services of KS Sahabuddin, who signed up with the Indian Cricket League.

The player to watch out for will be Bodipati Sumanth, the former India Under-19 batsman, who impressed on the U-19 team's tour to England in 2006. He scored an unbeaten 97 in the third one-dayer in Cardiff. Sumanth has played three first-class and five domestic Twenty20 matches for his state.

The squad will be coached by former Test player, Syed Abid Ali, who had guided Andhra to the top of the South Zone in 2002-03, when the Ranji Trophy was zone-based.

The squad's 20-day conditioning camp in Visakhapatnam ends tomorrow.

Andhra squad
MSK Prasad (capt, wk), Arjun Kumar, Mohammad Faiq, Gnaneswara Rao, Doddapaneni Kalyankrishna, I Raju, Prasad Reddy, Reddy, V Sandeep, Shankara Rao, Bodapati Sumanth, Marripuri Suresh, Satya Kumar Varma, P Vijay Kumar, Hemal Watekar
Coach: Syed Abid Ali