Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2009-10, quarter-finals round-up

Reddy ton takes Hyderabad to semi-final

Cricinfo staff

March 13, 2010

Text size: A | A

Hyderabad 183 for 3 (Reddy 105*) beat Mumbai 181 for 7 (Chitnis 89, Valthaty 46) by seven wickets

Akshath Reddy, in his first Twenty20 game, smashed an unbeaten 105, including ten fours and five sixes, to lead Hyderabad into the semi-final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy after they beat Mumbai by seven wickets. Mumbai, thanks to an unbeaten 89 from Siddharth Chitnis and a 24-ball 46 from Paul Valthaty, had posted a formidable 181. Chitnis, who faced just 36 balls, was ruthless in his knock, striking 10 sixes and four fours. But Reddy's reply was just as unforgiving, and he was well backed up by opener Danny Prince and Anoop Pai who chipped in with useful contributions to help ensure Hyderabad scaled down their target with little difficulty.

Maharashtra 123 for 4 (Shrikhande 35) beat Madhya Pradesh 120 (Abbas Ali 31, Adhav 3-29) by six wickets

Maharashtra marched into the semi-finals with a comprehensive victory, easing past the finish line with six wickets and four overs to spare. It was the bowlers who set up the win, taking four wickets for 19 runs in the middle of the innings to derail Madhya Pradesh, who had moved along to 54 for 2 by the 10th over. Left-arm spinner Kiran Adhav was the most successful of the Maharashtra bowlers, finishing with 3 for 29, as MP folded for 120. There was hardly any trouble during the chase, with the openers slamming 56 by the seventh over. Offspinner Jalaj Saxena sent down a tight spell, conceding only 17 runs and taking a wicket, but the target was too flimsy for MP to defend.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Hyderabad v Maharashtra at Indore - Mar 16, 2010
Maharashtra won by 19 runs
Delhi v Hyderabad at Indore - Mar 15, 2010
Hyderabad won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Maharashtra v Tamil Nadu at Indore - Mar 15, 2010
Maharashtra won by 3 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
Assam v Delhi at Indore - Mar 14, 2010
Delhi won by 35 runs
H. Pradesh v Tamil Nadu at Indore - Mar 14, 2010
Tamil Nadu won by 3 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days