Nehra reprimanded for excessive appealing
Ashish Nehra has been reprimanded for excessive appealing after India's six-wicket win against West Indies at Dambulla. Mike Procter, the match referee, found Nehra guilty of breaching the ICC's Code of Conduct with reference to clause 1.5 which deals with excessive appealing.
Nehra attended a hearing along with Rahul Dravid, the Indian captain, and Sanjay Jagdale, the manager. This happened after reports made by Simon Taufel, Tyrone Wijewardene and Asoka de Silva, the officials who conducted the second one-day international of the Indian Oil Cup.
Ironically enough, it was not appealing that got Nehra in trouble. The ICC Code of Conduct frowns on bowlers celebrating dismissals before the umpire has given his decision, and Nehra pleaded guilty to this charge.