IPL 2010

Sean Morris appointed Rajasthan Royals' CEO

Cricinfo staff

December 7, 2009

Text size: A | A

Sean Morris, the PCA Chief Executive, speaks at the NatWest PCA Awards dinner, September 29, 2008
Sean Morris: From the PCA to Rajasthan Royals John Gichigi / © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sean Morris
Series/Tournaments: Indian Premier League

Sean Morris, the former Hampshire player and chief executive of the Professional Cricketers' Association, has been appointed as Rajasthan Royals's new chief executive. Morris will take over the post immediately and will be particularly focused on development of the brand outside of India.

Manoj Badale, chairman of Rajasthan Royals, said: "Sean represents a great addition to the outstanding existing management team. He brings a strong mix of skills, and a real enthusiasm for the IPL. His international experience and relationships afford us great scope to continue to build the brand across the world."

Morris, 41, took over the PCA role in January 2008 as a successor to Richard Bevan, and his tenure coincided with some dramatic developments, including the rise of Twenty20 cricket, the terrorist attacks that interrupted England's tour of India last winter, and the high-profile falling-out of Kevin Pietersen and Peter Moores at the beginning of the year. Morris was also responsible for delivering a 35% increase in PCA commercial income despite the difficult financial climate.

"The Rajasthan Royals are a huge success story and I am thrilled to be joining such a progressive and successful organization," said Morris. "On the field they are the most innovative and charismatic IPL side and have developed a huge international following. The vision and professionalism of the club is second to none, and I look forward to working with the players, the board, our sponsors and the fans to build on the huge achievements so far."

Shane Warne, captain of the Rajasthan Royals, welcomed Morris' appointment. "I am delighted that Sean will be joining the Rajasthan Royals management team," he said. "He is well respected by players around the world and we look forward to him helping us build on the phenomenal successes that we have enjoyed so far".

The Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural IPL in 2008, played in India, but failed to repeat their success in this year's edition held in South Africa.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Mumbai - Apr 25, 2010
Super Kings won by 22 runs
RCB v Chargers at Mumbai - Apr 24, 2010
RCB won by 9 wickets (with 37 balls remaining)
Super Kings v Chargers at Mumbai - Apr 22, 2010
Super Kings won by 38 runs
RCB v Mum Indians at Mumbai - Apr 21, 2010
Mum Indians won by 35 runs
KKR v Mum Indians at Kolkata - Apr 19, 2010
KKR won by 9 wickets (with 15 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!