Indian Premier League 2010

Niranjan Shah to plead Jadeja's case

Cricinfo staff

February 16, 2010

Text size: A | A

Niranjan Shah observes the bidding process, Mumbai, January 19, 2010
Niranjan Shah has come out in support © Getty Images

Ravindra Jadeja, who was banned from the IPL 2010 season for allegedly trying to negotiate a contract outside of Rajasthan Royals, has received support from Niranjan Shah, the IPL vice-president. Shah, also the president of the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA), whom Jadeja represents in domestic tournaments, said he would request the IPL's governing council to consider the case.

"We are hoping that everything will be fine in the coming days and Jadeja will be able to take part in the IPL3 for his franchise," Shah was quoted as saying in the Indian Express. "We will see if his ban can be reduced to a couple of matches and not for the entire tournament."

Earlier, Jadeja had pleaded his innocence saying that he had sought prior approval from the BCCI, before deciding to negotiate with other franchises. In his letter to the BCCI, reportedly written two weeks before Saturday's ban, Jadeja said his contract with Rajasthan had expired on December 31, 2009 and that they did not give him any indications they were going to renew his contract.

"It is my understanding that my contract with Rajasthan Royals has expired and they have not at any stage offered me a renewal for Season 2010," Jadeja said in the letter. "In addition, I have never refused until this day to sign such a contract. Hence, I believe I am free to sign a contract with any franchisee."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Mumbai - Apr 25, 2010
Super Kings won by 22 runs
RCB v Chargers at Mumbai - Apr 24, 2010
RCB won by 9 wickets (with 37 balls remaining)
Super Kings v Chargers at Mumbai - Apr 22, 2010
Super Kings won by 38 runs
RCB v Mum Indians at Mumbai - Apr 21, 2010
Mum Indians won by 35 runs
KKR v Mum Indians at Kolkata - Apr 19, 2010
KKR won by 9 wickets (with 15 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days