Irish cricket July 10, 2007

Ireland names youth squads

Cricinfo staff

Ireland have named their Under-19 and Under-15 squads which will compete in two tournaments over the summer. The U-19 side take part in the European Championships in Belfast and the U-15s have their European competition in Netherlands.

Greg Thompson, an allrounder from Lisburn, will lead the U-19 team as they attempt to qualify for the U-19 World Cup which will be held early next year in Malaysia. The qualifying tournament takes place in Belfast from July 23-27.

The U-15 tournament takes place in Deventer in Netherlands from July 31 to August 2 and the side will be captained by Niall Delaney from Clontarf Cricket Club.

U-19 squad Greg Thompson (Lisburn, capt), Ben Ackland (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke), Andrew Britton (Donemana), Eoghan Delany (Clontarf), Chris Dougherty (Bready), Shane Getkate (Malahide), James Hall (Waringstown), Richard Keaveney (Merrion), Graham McDonnell (Pembroke), Gavin McKenna (N Down), Lee Nelson (Waringstown), Jamie Shannon (Instonians), Paul Stirling (Cliftonville)

U-15 squad Niall Delany ((Clontarf, capt), Jonathan Andrews (North County) , Eoghan Conway (Rush), Harry Doyle (Waringstown), James Fleming (The Hills), Marc Fleming (Bready), Shane Getkate (Malahide), Cameron Grieve (Lurgan), Dean Mehaffey (Donemana), Philip Moon (Limavady), Robin Russell (Pembroke), Sam Shannon (Instonians), Jason van der Merwe (Muckamore)