ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers 2010 January 6, 2010

Ireland bring in youth for Qualifiers

Cricinfo staff

Cricket Ireland has announced its squads for the Intercontinental Cup clash with Afghanistan and the ICC World Twenty20 qualifiers in UAE.

Thirteen players have been selected for the match against Afghanistan, which will be held in Sri Lanka because of security issues, and it will be supplemented by two players from the Under-19 squad.

"We reached the Super Eight phase of the last tournament in England, and I know just how much myself and the players want a chance to repeat that in the West Indies," coach Phil Simmons said. "It won't be easy with just two qualifying from eight teams, but I'm confident we have the players to do it."

Ireland squad William Porterfield (capt), Andre Botha, Peter Connell, Alex Cusack, Phil Eaglestone, Trent Johnston, Gary Kidd, John Mooney, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Boyd Rankin, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.

George Dockrell and Paul Stirling will join the squad for the ICC World Cup Qualifiers.